Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
How to determine the correct amount of rear toe-in? >

How to determine the correct amount of rear toe-in?

How to determine the correct amount of rear toe-in?

Old 07-30-2015, 02:59 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default How to determine the correct amount of rear toe-in?

At this point I've been driving RCs for a couple years, and I have a basic grasp of how to tune the camber on all four wheels and the toe on the front wheels. But what about the rear wheels? I know they should always be toed-in, but how can I tell whether they should be toed-in 1 degree, or 2, or 3, or somewhere in between? What's the handling characteristic that is used to identify incorrect toe-in on the rear wheels?
Old 07-30-2015, 03:23 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Originally Posted by fyrstormer View Post
At this point I've been driving RCs for a couple years, and I have a basic grasp of how to tune the camber on all four wheels and the toe on the front wheels. But what about the rear wheels? I know they should always be toed-in, but how can I tell whether they should be toed-in 1 degree, or 2, or 3, or somewhere in between? What's the handling characteristic that is used to identify incorrect toe-in on the rear wheels?
More toe will plant the rear end during cornering and tends to square the car up faster on acceleration. You've usually gone too far if the car is is just too planted, you don't have enough if you have severe looseness mainly during exit acceleration.

Adjusting toe is of course balanced with the rest of the possible chassis adjustments. A small toe adjustment can have a large effect.
Old 07-30-2015, 09:03 PM
Tech Champion

Would different rear toe settings affect handling during braking at all?

Also, what does "too planted" mean?
Old 07-30-2015, 09:10 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)

Would different rear toe settings affect handling during braking at all?