R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2005, 02:10 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default Scottchy Diode

I purchased a second hand speedo a few weeks ago and have yet to install it or use it. http://www.nosram.com/products.asp?id=53 this is the speedo and I want to know. Will I have to solder a diode on, if so, where, its all sealed up!
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:34 PM   #2
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You never can go wrong using a schottky diode as long as itīs a forward only ESC. This one seems being one. On the other side this ESC reminds me of the older LRP V6 or V7.1 ESC which didnīt need a schottky. Best is you contact the guys there to find out.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:38 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I was just thinking that this thing looked just like my LRP 7.1. If you plan on running mod at all I would suggest getting the LRP heatsink kit but other than that, it's a great ESC. The LRP one is at least.

What's the motor limit and such on it?
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:41 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

It says 13turns, Ill be using it either in Tamiya silver can class or stock. So I dont think a Scottchy will be necesarry but Ill email them to be sure.
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:41 PM   #5
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

They say 13t motorlimit at their website.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:42 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Oop's, I didn't see that. Not quite the same as the LRP then. My LRP has had a 9x1 on it and been fine.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:43 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I agree with v12, that using the diode never hurts. if u are racing silver can or stock, 1 diode willbe enough... its a $5 investment to protect your esc!
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:47 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I was just looking at the site and I think, if you can afford it, you might be better off with the Dominator Evolution or the Dominator. Proabaly not that much more money and it just increases your options of what you can do in the future.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:48 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

How and where do I install it, also is there any specific diode I need or can I just go into a diy shop and ask for a skottchy diode.
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:50 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

Scott, I bought this second hand about 3weeks ago for 5quid(about $8.50). The dominator evo is a good speedo but for 99quid (about $180) new, I dont see the benefit racing in tamiya or stock class, and I couldnt afford it, The Nosram Internation is 35quid ($65) new so theres a big difference.
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:52 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, for stock, that's going to be great and more than you need. Especially for a cost of $8.50.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 02:55 PM   #12
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Problem is most electronic shops doesnīt sell schottky diodes as itīs too special but if so a SB 540 is a very common type and itīs sold with a lot of ESCīs.
Best is soldering this diode directly to the motor. There always is a silver ring at the diodes and this side goes to the positive tab of the motor. Donīt reverse the diode otherwise you will burn the diode and maybe also your ESC.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Schottky Diode Martinst Rookie Zone 7 03-17-2008 05:27 PM
diode harddrive Electric On-Road 10 02-27-2006 10:40 PM
Schottky diode? 4ou Rookie Zone 6 08-27-2005 03:28 PM
schottky diode help JL Electric On-Road 3 08-27-2005 10:36 AM
Schottky diode for ESC danjoy25 Australian Racing 13 07-14-2005 12:12 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net