R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2002, 01:35 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default trinity real time2 tips...

I just picked up a trinity realtime 2 and was wondering if any of you guys could give me some tips to utilize it best. I currently use sanyo 2400's and 1-3300 gp. Thanks--Al
__________________
TA05 gen 1.... the real OG.
I'm not a racer, I just crush a lot.
17.5- Spec-r S1~ Scale Spec- VBC Ghost EVO ~ GT2- TA05 ~ GT3- TB03 ~ F1-F104
Keepin' it real with my M11x
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 04:36 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 221
Default

Dont use it on NiMH cells, for NiCads its pretty simple just stick em in there.

NiMH cells dont like to be taken down the way the RT2 does, will shorten your runtime.

The fan usually dies in them withing a few months, I just took mine out and its been fine.
patcollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 05:47 PM   #3
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by patcollins
The fan usually dies in them withing a few months, I just took mine out and its been fine.
Mine is a year + old, still going strong..
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 07:31 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Flash Gordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Are you ready to rock & roll?!?
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to Flash Gordan Send a message via Yahoo to Flash Gordan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6
Mine is a year + old, still going strong..
I bought mine used and I know it's over a year old. It's still going strong. But I also use it on my HV's.
Flash Gordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 08:17 PM   #5
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

The best mod you can do to the RT2? Internally wire up the leads of the fans to the battery posts. For the hole where the flyleads come out from put a switch there. Identify +ve and -ve posts (because it is necessary for the DC fan) and you can get rid of that wire for the fan..which always seems to get in the way at the pits!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 09:47 PM   #6
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dtm
The best mod you can do to the RT2? Internally wire up the leads of the fans to the battery posts. For the hole where the flyleads come out from put a switch there. Identify +ve and -ve posts (because it is necessary for the DC fan) and you can get rid of that wire for the fan..which always seems to get in the way at the pits!
Dude! You da man!

Time to hack apart a old Hitec switch, and make some mods.

Edit - Only problem, sometimes i run it off my power supply...

-Troy
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 10:02 PM   #7
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSR6
Dude! You da man!

Time to hack apart a old Hitec switch, and make some mods.

Edit - Only problem, sometimes i run it off my power supply...

-Troy
haha.........just think..you can carry your RT2 anywhere without that PS line......
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 10:06 PM   #8
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dtm
haha.........just think..you can carry your RT2 anywhere without that PS line......
Hmm... new thought, Ill get one of those phone line spools... then i can carry it a good 10 feet away. :P

I would definately do this mod if i didnt run the RT2 off my P/S.

-T
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 10:23 PM   #9
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

In true "Blue Peter" style (those from the UK will understand!)......heres one I did earlier!

TSR6- did you have to change the fan on your RT2 cause its only a 5v unit...or you have a 5v output from your PS?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rt2.jpg (78.5 KB, 106 views)
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 10:37 PM   #10
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dtm
In true "Blue Peter" style (those from the UK will understand!)......heres one I did earlier!

TSR6- did you have to change the fan on your RT2 cause its only a 5v unit...or you have a 5v output from your PS?
Well, No i did not change the fan, heh.... But it hasnt blown up yet!

-Troy
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2002, 10:41 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hey tsr6,mine say 2.5 along the base and doesn't have the "discharge device" in between the cells like yours does. It has a synopsys of what do do for each type of cell (nicad/nimh) at each end. I guess mine is the "new and improved". It's probably the same damn thing!!
__________________
TA05 gen 1.... the real OG.
I'm not a racer, I just crush a lot.
17.5- Spec-r S1~ Scale Spec- VBC Ghost EVO ~ GT2- TA05 ~ GT3- TB03 ~ F1-F104
Keepin' it real with my M11x
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2002, 03:22 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
ausracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 276
Default

i crank my power supply up to 15 volts for extra cooling power and its been good for 9 months.
ausracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2002, 05:29 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default

Whats the difference between a Real Time 1 and a Real Time 2 Tray? I have RT1, is it worth upgrading?
rcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2002, 06:48 AM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 221
Default

The RT 1 has to have the battery oriented in a certian way because it has voltage cutoff diodes (0.6V), the RT 2 doesnt have any voltage cutoffs and takes the cells down to 0V if you leave them in long enough, but this also allows the battery to be put in any way and it will work. This is great for NiCads but is kinda dangerous for some NiMH cells. Sanyos seem to like to be brought down to 0V and even dead shorted sometimes.

My fan died within 3 months and when I took it apart I saw it was only rated for 5V. If you discharge your packs to 5.4V before you put them in the tray it shouldnt get very hot even without the fan.
patcollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2002, 07:56 AM   #15
Regional Moderator
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: IRT #122
Posts: 3,364
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dtm
The best mod you can do to the RT2? Internally wire up the leads of the fans to the battery posts. For the hole where the flyleads come out from put a switch there. Identify +ve and -ve posts (because it is necessary for the DC fan) and you can get rid of that wire for the fan..which always seems to get in the way at the pits!
dtm......thanks for the great tip I did mine last night
and it works great! no more wires in my way again
Ko Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Real Time 2 RCMits Electric On-Road 22 11-10-2004 10:06 PM
WTB: Trinity Real Time micros_rock R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 03-22-2004 11:35 AM
WTB: Trinity Real Time 2 Ortiz R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 06-06-2003 06:36 AM
Real Tips For Real Cars Cmotif Chat Lounge 62 07-31-2002 03:55 PM
Trinity Real Time 2 Cole Trickle Electric On-Road 1 11-21-2001 04:53 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net