Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
EXPLAIN ACKERMAN AND ITS EFFECTS >

EXPLAIN ACKERMAN AND ITS EFFECTS

EXPLAIN ACKERMAN AND ITS EFFECTS

Old 06-22-2015, 12:43 AM
Tech Addict

Default EXPLAIN ACKERMAN AND ITS EFFECTS

Hi all,its not something i play around with much so would be good to hear from others on how and why you shim it ,i think its the next step for me to find those last few tenths,im struggling with coming off a sweeper to then get it turned in at the end of it,kinda mid to exit issues ,tyres grain up quite quickly so was thinking maybe lose some toe out (which is the change i make instead of adjusting ackerman) and add shims to alter the ackerman,i drive an xray t4 15
Old 06-22-2015, 01:12 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

I have very little experience with ackerman. Normally I just run the kit 1mm (T4'14). Today I was running on a track with sweeping 180s. The car was having trouble with mid to exit, feelinv like it was bound up and just wouldn't rotate. Adding 1mm (total 2mm) did help quite a bit. So I think you're probably on the right track.

More shims on most modern TC's with bellcranks and links straight across, will reduce ackerman, giving less inside wheel and and more outside.

One thing I've noticed with only front toe changes is that more toe out gives better turnin but washes out mid corner. Thinking about Ackerman with respect to that, I'd think less Ackerman would counteract that mid corner washout. As for when to use toe and when to use ackerman... *shrug*
Old 06-22-2015, 01:29 AM
Tech Initiate

I find this from RCF1.FR
Attached Thumbnails EXPLAIN ACKERMAN AND ITS EFFECTS-137924sanstitre1.jpg  
Old 06-22-2015, 02:07 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

more shims generally means more aggressive turn in
Old 06-22-2015, 08:51 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)