R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-24-2005, 03:06 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMGRacer
...So it appears you need a program device to program these puppies? Is it a hand held device or a link cable? Somebody said $90 and somebody else said $30 any ideas exactly what it would run??
I don't think you need the programmer. I have run both versions as is and they both run great.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 03:21 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,266
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMGRacer
So it appears you need a program device to program these puppies? Is it a hand held device or a link cable? Somebody said $90 and somebody else said $30 any ideas exactly what it would run??
i agree that you won't really need a programming device. if you wanted to change the programming there are quite a few people at most races that have one and could help you get it done. i help racers at the track frequently program the esc because they do not have any way to do it themselves.
__________________
- SchuurSpeed - 6X ROAR National Stock Champion
- Hobbywing North America Team Manager
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 03:54 PM   #18
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecrow2k
Not meaning to put it down never drove one, but a mate has said a fellow driver has 2 and said there really flat with no punch, however than may be his opinion, mayeb test another drive at your track who has ones.
thecrow... if you run a silver can, stock, or 19T motor, the preloaded program on the Hara Twister 2.0/2.1 will be way too flat for your needs. you will need to adjust all the drive frequencies within the throttle profile. check out the VFS-1 thread. its in my signature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by odawg315
i currently run gtx's in all my car, if you guys love these controllers so much give me reason to sell my gtx and step into the hara. i win with my novak, so convince me!!

to all who are writing reviews and comparing to your "former" esc, what kind were your formers, hopfully not the likes of basic lrp's or mtroniks and stuff, id like to see it compared to the gtx, the quantum2, and the keyonce.... those are the esc i see alot of pro's using.
if you are happy with your GTX you should stick with it. BUT if you are willing to venture out and have more fine tuning with your speedo, then jump in and get the VFS line of escs and a handheld programmer. i used to run a QC. then switched to the VFS-2000. i immediately jumped in and played with the throttle profile. i was able to dial in more punch while keeping the same gear ratio. looks like your in florida, Andrew Ellis won the ROAR Nats there recently in the stock class and he was running a VFS based speedo.

for more information, check out the Ko Propo site at: www.kopropo.com or click on the link in my signature.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 02:32 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnewb2004
I'll try to straighten a few things for you, best to look at the KO VFS-1 thread.

The hardware between these models are identical:
Hara 2.0 = vfs-1 pro (has a low cutoff temp, not good for you if u run 8T motors)

Hara 2.1 = vfs-1 pro competition (has a higher cutoff temp, which maybe better for you, if you run 8T)

The difference between Hara and KO VFS-1 models is that the Hara comes equipped with hara's own settings (designed for mod racing) preprogrammed in the ESC, and the hara 2.1 has the carbon fibre like case.

Once you get a Hara 2.1, you will need:
1x Extra Schottky diode SINGLE (or DOUBLE for better protection)
1x Handheld Programmer OR computer programming cable

Run the cap for better punch. I run 19T and use 2caps, gives very good punch.

But just a note:
(You might have confused diode with capacitor?)

Small capacitors attached to the motor surpresses motor "noise" which may interfere with your radio, since you run a spektrum all is good.

However, the diode's job is not to prevent radio interference, but to prevent the reverse EMF generated by the motor during braking from frying your esc.

It is best to run with the diode!

Happy racing!
Thanks for the reply. I am actually reasonably experienced at RC, but a bit of a dope when it comes to Electric. I run the V2 series of motors exclusively and I understand these come with the capacitors to suppress noise. I have never yet run a diode on any motor (between 7-10 turn) and have not had a problem, BUT I thought it was to suppress noise. I did not realise I could fry my ESC doing this!! I will grab some diodes for my motors.

Thanks for the info on the KO, I did not realise that they are basically the same, will check that thread.

A buddy of mine gave me a capacitor about the size of a cats head to run on my GT7, this thing is freakin huge. So the capacitor is required to increase punch, man I am a n00b. I thought it was also for noise supression. I think I am straight now, thanks!
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 02:35 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
I don't think you need the programmer. I have run both versions as is and they both run great.
So in your view the 2.1 you can take from the box and lay down the smack without messing with the settings? Thats pretty much what I want......
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 02:58 AM   #21
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I am not Rick Hohwart.. but if you run modified, yes. solder and go if you use the hara 2.1! The hara settings are preinstalled! if hara can win with the settings, i can't see what's wrong!

ur not a newb AMGRacer! (otherwise that puts me to a pre-newb status, which I hope I have passed already after blowing up 3 escs and destroying 2 rc cars!) , I am fortunate to have soldered a few things before going into RC, so happened to get a bit of background on that. But as the name says, I am the newb around here. Haven't soldered very many things with 4 wheels, but just so happens one of them is the hara 2.1 and I am loving it. So I decided to do my part with promoting the 2.1! (i am not hired by KO, but i have a basic understanding and fully believe in the technology they are using in the hara 2.1. Also because I am having the best racing time of my life with this esc.) I felt I spent alot of $ on the ESC, but I think this is the last esc I will never need to get. (unless I get another car!)

Caps can both surpress noise and add more punch for your car.
Depending on the type of cap you use, and where in the circuit you are using it, caps can serve as either purpose!

Running the diode will certainly make sure nothing happens to esc!

I hope my posts are not too long and that I haven't wasted your time making you read my garbage!

Happy Racing!
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 08:52 AM   #22
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMGRacer
So in your view the 2.1 you can take from the box and lay down the smack without messing with the settings? Thats pretty much what I want......
Yes. In fact I installed the 2.1 before the first round (no practice with it) of the Mod Nats and was second for the round (behind Hara). It is a great speedo.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 02:05 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart
Yes. In fact I installed the 2.1 before the first round (no practice with it) of the Mod Nats and was second for the round (behind Hara). It is a great speedo.
Oh you are THAT Rick Hohwart. Well thanks for the answer I am going to purchase one tonight in fact!
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 03:14 PM   #24
Buyer Beware
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 332
Default

i am gonna buy one tonight!.....kitty
HELLOkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hara twister 2.2 Jamesalex Electric On-Road 6 03-06-2008 09:28 AM
KO HARA TWISTER 2.1 ESC Like New !!! Sigearhead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 11-23-2007 02:42 PM
Cyclone Hara edition and Hara Twister 2 speedo FUK_WRX Australia For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2007 09:40 AM
Hara Twister 2.1 ESC ?????HELP!!!!!!!! spaks Electric On-Road 4 06-30-2006 11:56 AM
Hara Twister ESC FW-05RR Electric On-Road 25 07-14-2004 11:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net