Old 05-30-2015, 04:16 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Brushed motor sparks and fire ?

link -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=968yAI5KGjQ

Is that suppose to happen ?
Old 05-30-2015, 04:50 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)

I think so yes. I experienced that when I had brushed motor. Im not an expert. Maybe the others have a better input.
Old 05-30-2015, 05:38 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 315 (100%+)

Perfectly normal, it'll reduce as the brushes bed in.
Old 05-30-2015, 05:48 AM
Tech Rookie

Thanks for the reply guys !
Old 05-30-2015, 06:54 AM
Tech Adept

I think yes too )
Old 05-30-2015, 07:45 AM
Tech Master

Brushed motor sparks normal. And there's one that can be done. Adding a capacitor across the motor. Two it get intense when your brush are replaced, Three resurface the commutator. Adding a capacitor also diminish spark but interference of radio equipment. Everything said, upgrade to brushless like everyone is. Brushed motor do get expensive with the Lathe for commutator. Brushless replace Rotor(permanant Magnet) and bearings. No sparks. Most brushed motor used to come with 2 Caps, attached to each brush.
Old 05-30-2015, 08:38 AM
Tech Regular

That's a little more than normal. It looks like the brush isn't making good contact with the armature. Have you broken this motor in yet?
Old 05-30-2015, 09:05 AM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by 2uzferunner03
That's a little more than normal. It looks like the brush isn't making good contact with the armature. Have you broken this motor in yet?
I did let the motor run without load for about 10 minutes when i first got it. The brush now looks fine to me , its curved and its making full contact to the comm. I think its been like this all the time , I just haven't noticed it until now. :/
Old 05-30-2015, 09:42 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

means she's making power...
Old 05-30-2015, 03:17 PM
Tech Master