R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2005, 04:17 PM   #16
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

no, connect the 110V to power, the charger should come one.


then connect the 16x5 connector that you would normally connect to a power supply to the small round red & black connections on the rear of the unit.
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 04:33 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

did exactly that, u get nothing. Ive since found out on another forum its a known issue. its to do with the failsafe in the powersupply. the jacks work fine as 12v input for the original charger, but when using 110v, and attaching another peice, the powerrsupply shuts down the banana jacks. only solution is to bypass the failsafe as mentioned above. this voids the warranty, but ive heard its the ONLY solution. one disgruntled buyer actually posted this on integy's forum and theres no response from integy themselves.... to me thats poor business. you find someone with a problem with your product, you either point out wats wrong or take responsibility... and that post was from 2004...... guess ill have to get it working myself ...
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 05:24 PM   #18
Tech Regular
 
EricO3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to EricO3 Send a message via MSN to EricO3
Default

Can anyone give a more detailed explanation on how to do this?
EricO3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 07:42 PM   #19
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

hmmm, not sure, I used the 12v output on my 16x9 & 16x9v6....
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 07:46 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

from what i have read, the output on the 16x9v6 doesnt work unless your trying to power up something like a LED or something tiny like that. The failsafe disconnects the power to the banana plugs as soon as a draw is noticed. Again this is from a forum on the integy website, and no response from integy themselves.

I did the fix last night. takes two seconds but does void your warranty. Take off the top of the case, you'll see two circuit boards. the one at the front is the powersupply, and the one at the rear, with the massive heatsink is the charger board. You'll see two red and two black wires coming from the front circuit board to the rear one. You can also follow where the banana plugs are soldered onto the rear board. cut these wires, and solder them to the same connection as the two red and two black wires from the powersupply. Took me two seconds to complete, and worked fine last night at racing. I may make a change tho, im going to put an inline fuse in the Banana plug red wire, to ensure it doesnt short for whatever reason. But for now, im happy again with my charger. I ran my 16x5v6b off the 16x9v6 and worked perfectly. Im going to put it to the test soon, Im going to make a power board, and run my dyno, lathe and 16x5v6b off it. They say its a switching powersupply, so it should be fine if its over loaded, should just shut down. But hey.... i beleived i was able to connect another charger to the 16x9v6.....
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 12:09 PM   #21
Tech Master
 
TVMRocket69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,902
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TVMRocket69 Send a message via Yahoo to TVMRocket69
Default

EricO I have a 16X9 v6.0 and I use the built in power supply to power a Pulsar and a Intellipeak. I solders a pair of Corally blugs to the pulsar and the connected it to the back of the X9. I had the same problem with the Power supply not working, but I foundout that all I had to do was hookup the negative to the PS and then rub the pos around the plug on the back of the charger until it came on it takes upto 5 seconds but make sure that the 16X9 is on first. If U connect the other charger to the X9 first and then plug in the X9 it won't power the second charger. I've been doing this for about 2 years and have had no problems with the X9, the puwer supply or any charger I connect to it. I'm not sure if U can do this but I am able to connect 2 chargers to my X9 and have all 3 charge at 5amps with no problems as of yet but to be safe I wouldn't go above 13amps total for all.

Hope this helps.

Bob
__________________
Bob Walker Jr.-Sponsor's-
AnswerUSA-RC Team Driver, G's R/C Raceway Team Driver, RBMods Team Driver, Kosmic R/C Fuel Team Driver, MurfDogg Motorworks Team Driver, Serpent S811B, Serpent S811t, MurfDogg Powered V-Desizn Carpet Ripper 5
TVMRocket69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 04:25 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

Well finally got a reply from Integy regarding the problem, I was told that the charger wasnt designed to have 12v output!! I was told the banana plugs are only for 12v input only when using a car battery etc. I quickly replied how in the description of the charger, it states that the powersupply in the 16x9 is powerful enough to power your indi dyno, lathe etc. I asked how can one do this, if your powersupply in your charger wasnt designed to power anything else, and doesnt come with anyway to connect the other equipment!

It was also mentioned that quote "Some racers managed to bypass the internal circuit protection and hookup a 2nd charger directly to the back. Others have rewired the unit to access the 14A power supply"

Hmmm....

at any rate, ive got it working the way i want.

On another note, are the batteries you charge with this charger coming off hot? Mine are continuously coming off almost too hot to touch at a charge at 5.5 or 6 amps (GP3300).
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2005, 04:34 PM   #23
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

even on the smaller 16x5V6..comes out hot..
set your voltage threashold to 3mv.
I put my pack on a fan when charging.

hopefully the new 16x512 and 16x912 will change all that when it gets released w/3 stage charging and temp probe.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 02:31 PM   #24
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,764
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Anybody seen a picture of the new 16X512? I am hoping it is the same size as the 16X5 and retains all the other features!
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22T 4.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 03:10 PM   #25
Tech Regular
 
EricO3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to EricO3 Send a message via MSN to EricO3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axle182
from what i have read, the output on the 16x9v6 doesnt work unless your trying to power up something like a LED or something tiny like that. The failsafe disconnects the power to the banana plugs as soon as a draw is noticed. Again this is from a forum on the integy website, and no response from integy themselves.

I did the fix last night. takes two seconds but does void your warranty. Take off the top of the case, you'll see two circuit boards. the one at the front is the powersupply, and the one at the rear, with the massive heatsink is the charger board. You'll see two red and two black wires coming from the front circuit board to the rear one. You can also follow where the banana plugs are soldered onto the rear board. cut these wires, and solder them to the same connection as the two red and two black wires from the powersupply. Took me two seconds to complete, and worked fine last night at racing. I may make a change tho, im going to put an inline fuse in the Banana plug red wire, to ensure it doesnt short for whatever reason. But for now, im happy again with my charger. I ran my 16x5v6b off the 16x9v6 and worked perfectly. Im going to put it to the test soon, Im going to make a power board, and run my dyno, lathe and 16x5v6b off it. They say its a switching powersupply, so it should be fine if its over loaded, should just shut down. But hey.... i beleived i was able to connect another charger to the 16x9v6.....


So you cut the banana plug wire inside the charger off of the charger circuit board , and solder them onto the solder joints were the two red/black wire are soldered onto the charging circuit board from the power supply?

-Eric
EricO3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 03:23 PM   #26
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default


Not sure if this is it or not....
But, it's one of the new models...

Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 03:26 PM   #27
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tres

Not sure if this is it or not....
But, it's one of the new models...
That's the 16X405D2.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 03:32 PM   #28
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Nope, I have a 405D2, it's looks like this:

Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 03:37 PM   #29
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tres
Nope, I have a 405D2, it's looks like this:


you are right..my booboo..

indeed that could be the new 512...that I'm patiently waiting for...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 02:28 PM   #30
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,764
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I was thinking it should be much smaller then that due it being DC only. I am wondering if it will have motor break in features and stuff. I love my 16X5V6 chargers but having step and thermal cutoff features would make them perfect! Is there and indi electronics site anyone know of that might have any info on these new chargers? I am not sure I can wait until late april! LOL
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22T 4.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
((Indi 16x9V6 w/builtin power supply, Indi Dyno V2)) F. Mendoza R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 10-29-2007 08:34 PM
INDI 16x9v6 Question SOuthernFRIED Electric On-Road 2 07-19-2004 06:17 AM
Indi 16X9v6 Charger birdy233 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-06-2004 08:00 AM
INDI 16X9v6 charger Silvercomet Electric On-Road 2 03-11-2004 09:24 PM
Eagle Racing/INDI 16X9v6 1-10 Cells AC/DC Computerized Charger? bruisedwillis Electric On-Road 20 11-28-2003 10:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net