R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-30-2015, 01:07 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
cds13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 24
Angry help motor newbie here

hi all

new to electric raced nitro for years

i have just put my new car togther to our rules

i am running
tt01 chassis
tamiya 23 t BZ motor
durtrax de10 esc
2s lipo nano tech 4600mah
flysky 3ch receiver
digatal servo 1/8 scale

compleatly new to this

runnning motor with no load to make sure it works

but the motor goes like sh*t very slow and wires get warm after 2-3secs

help please

meant to race in 2 days :P
cds13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 01:32 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,187
Default

23T is a pretty slow motor to begin with. But if the motor is getting too hot too fast check for binding in the drive train. Without the motor in the car all the wheels should spin together fairly freely. Then when installing the motor make sure not to set the gear mesh too tight.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 01:46 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
cds13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 24
Default

oh ok i dont know if your meant to run a motor with no load but i have just to try it and it doesnt run right the wires get hot no load
thanks corey
cds13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 05:56 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 497
Default

Your not supposed to run brushless motors without a load.

With that being said it won't look like it's going very fast but you should be able to feel some torque.
2uzferunner03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 06:08 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,658
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Are you running a brushless ESC with a brushed motor? Your motor and ESC might be incompatible, or your wiring might be off. I'd check to make certain that the Duratrax ESC supports brushed motors.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 07:46 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 497
Default

Sorry just realized your running a brushed system.

Check the brushes by removing the springs and popping them out. If their purple you burnt them up.

I would break in that motor...
Find a 6 cell nimh with about 1000mah on it or hook up a couple c sized batts together in series.
Drop the motor in a cup of water.
Hook the battery up directly to the motor and let it run until it's dead.
Spray it out with motor cleaner and re lube the bearings.
CAUTION. Don't get lube on the brushes.

This process breaks in the brushes to the armature commutators.

Last edited by 2uzferunner03; 04-30-2015 at 08:08 AM.
2uzferunner03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 08:54 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

23t motor considered a stock brushed motor, 28t to 21t are stock. 20t to 14t intermediate, 13t to 6t Pro's!!! lower the turns quicker they are. Same with brushless Higher KV stock motor and lower KV the quicker. Your Duratrak ESC capable of running brushless, I'd go brushless, with brushless you wont have to rebuild brushed motors. 4600mah batteries you will change to lipo's to 5000KV, + a lipo charger.

Upgrade the vehicle to now standards, Brushless!!! You'll be happier!!
good luck!!!
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 11:13 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geezatec View Post
23t motor considered a stock brushed motor, 28t to 21t are stock. 20t to 14t intermediate, 13t to 6t Pro's!!! lower the turns quicker they are. Same with brushless Higher KV stock motor and lower KV the quicker. Your Duratrak ESC capable of running brushless, I'd go brushless, with brushless you wont have to rebuild brushed motors. 4600mah batteries you will change to lipo's to 5000KV, + a lipo charger.

Upgrade the vehicle to now standards, Brushless!!! You'll be happier!!
good luck!!!
Sounds like the brushed motor is required for the class he's racing in. If not than I agree to go brushless.
2uzferunner03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 11:23 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
BigBadDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Michigan.
Posts: 106
Default

cds.. did you break brushed motor in ? also have you done esc radio setup ?..

if not do both .. I use a cup of antifreeze to break motor in with a single D cell. hookup drop in cup let it run..

I think ur esc is causing over heat due to not setup to radio..

sorry to hear all the confusion due to people not reading a post .. Best of luck
__________________
OHM's law use it..
BigBadDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 02:05 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
cds13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 24
Default

motor is broken in yes

i have to have a 23 t 540 brushed motor for my class

esc is designed to work with brushed or brushless half my club runs them

a radio setup ? sorry i dont know much about electric

cheers corey
cds13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 05:19 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 497
Default

Best thing is to just throw it on the track and see what it does. Since your racing in a club where everyone has the same equipment they would be able to help you more.

Last edited by 2uzferunner03; 04-30-2015 at 05:32 PM.
2uzferunner03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2015, 02:11 AM   #12
Tech Initiate
 
cds13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 24
Default

i just ran the car for 10 secs i now have all the parts and now the esc smokes so its beyond me
cds13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2015, 03:16 AM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Maybe a wiring error

From the manual:

CONNECTING BRUSHED MOTORS
There are two options for connecting brushed motors.
The motors can be connected as one-way (forward
only) or two-way (forward and reverse). When
using a brushed DC motor, please ensure that the
confi guration between the ESC and the motor must
be in accordance with the selected programming
in the ESC (forward or forward/reverse).

2 way: forward/reverse
orange yellow to - motor
bleu to + motor

1 way: Forward
orange yellow blue to - motor
+ from battery to + motor
stofke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2015, 08:24 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Jaymancd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: in my house
Posts: 1,366
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cds13 View Post
i just ran the car for 10 secs i now have all the parts and now the esc smokes so its beyond me
If it is smoking my guess is your esc is fried. I have had a few do the same thing. Look into another one or get in touch with the manufacturer.
__________________
-Taking a temporary vacation from R/C-
Team Holy Rollers--Team Bendy
If you hear my shot, you weren't the target.
Jaymancd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 12:28 AM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
gmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Hi Desert Cali
Posts: 22
Default

check the ESC to see if it can use lipos
gmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:56 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net