Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Transmitter range issues >

Transmitter range issues

Transmitter range issues

Old 04-15-2015, 12:17 AM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 20
Default Transmitter range issues

Hi guys, I have a basic 2 channel AM 27 MHZ transmitter from Tamiya (Adspec) and I feel that the range is exceptionally poor. Like the car would be about 3 meters away from me and the throttle input would be intermittent.

I have a few questions about this then:

1) When controlling the car, do I need to point the antenna toward the car? Or is there any other direction for such purpose.

2) Would upgrading to a 2.4 gHz provide greater range?

3) For the loose antenna from the receiver, I am currently just stuffing it where I could find space. Is the location of the antenna critical?

Thanks!
Corse
Corsa88 is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 12:45 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
TB03Racer09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

1) Doesn't matter where you point it
2) Yes, more range as well an no more interference from other radios
3) The antenna should be in a plastic tube that sits vertically on the chassis, preferably away from other wires

Has the antenna ever been shortened on the radio or receiver?
TB03Racer09 is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 01:22 AM
  #3  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 20
Default

Originally Posted by TB03Racer09 View Post
1) Doesn't matter where you point it
2) Yes, more range as well an no more interference from other radios
3) The antenna should be in a plastic tube that sits vertically on the chassis, preferably away from other wires

Has the antenna ever been shortened on the radio or receiver?
Oh, the antenna has to be risen out of the car vertically? it currently sits in the body itself coiled up in a mess. Would that be a factor for poor reception? No the antenna was never shortened.
Corsa88 is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 01:24 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
TB03Racer09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, definitely a factor. Also make sure you transmitter batteries are not flat and that you open the telescoping transmitter antenna all the way.
TB03Racer09 is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 01:30 AM
  #5  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Originally Posted by Corsa88 View Post
Hi guys, I have a basic 2 channel AM 27 MHZ transmitter from Tamiya (Adspec) and I feel that the range is exceptionally poor. Like the car would be about 3 meters away from me and the throttle input would be intermittent.

I have a few questions about this then:

1) When controlling the car, do I need to point the antenna toward the car? Or is there any other direction for such purpose.

2) Would upgrading to a 2.4 gHz provide greater range?

3) For the loose antenna from the receiver, I am currently just stuffing it where I could find space. Is the location of the antenna critical?

Thanks!
Corse
1) No

2) If your receiver and antenna are positioned correctly then technically speaking no...lower frequencies technically travel farther than higher frequencies. However your car is likely not set up properly for optimum reception so switching to a 2.4Ghz radio/receiver would give you better reception as antenna position is not nearly as sensitive as 27Mhz radio/receivers are.

3) For the 27Mhz system you need the antenna to extend up as high as possible. Best if it is extended through the body and is as far away from power wires as possible.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 06:58 AM
  #6  
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 8,756
Default

Check the antenna cable for a breakpoint. Also check if the transmitter antanna is screwed tight.

And a simple 2.4GHz GT2 transmitter can be found for just 30 dollar....
Roelof is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 07:42 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,513
Default

AM27mhz & 75mhz radios require a 14" antenna tube raised out of body. Antenna wire or cable may have a break. You can attempt to replace if or purchase a 2.4 setup, and have the 5" antenna and long telescopic antenna to a short TX antenna, and be with the Jones.
Geezatec is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 09:56 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
sakadachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Also check that your motor has capacitors soldered.

I run 75MHz FM on my older chassis still, for the old school fun of it , and the antenna is wound inside the body, no antenna pole. I have no issue driving it down the street. If I was going to race with it, I would definitely use my 2.4GHz.
sakadachi is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 10:12 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
eR1c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,275
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I hate AM transmitters ...they are always trouble sooner or later. The last one I used was in about 2007, -what a PITA.

Get a 2.4 ghz, -All your troubles will be gone!
eR1c is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 10:59 AM
  #10  
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 8,756
Default

Originally Posted by eR1c View Post
I hate AM transmitters ...they are always trouble sooner or later. The last one I used was in about 2007, -what a PITA.

Get a 2.4 ghz, -All your troubles will be gone!
It is very wrong to say there are no problems with 2.4ghz. With 2.4ghz you still have a wireless communication which can and will be disturbed..
Roelof is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 10:59 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Racermac73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palmyra, Virginia
Posts: 1,943
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Been so long since I ran that stuff I forgot how annoying radio problems are. I would upgrade to 2.4 and be done with radio issues for good
Racermac73 is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 11:50 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
(0000000000)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,172
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

"Who has channel 72?!? I need the clip for channel 72!!!"


LoL
(0000000000) is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 11:57 AM
  #13  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

RED !

RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 12:23 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Racermac73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palmyra, Virginia
Posts: 1,943
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Lol
Racermac73 is offline  
Old 04-15-2015, 12:45 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I still have the clip from Las Vegas for 53.6.
howardcano is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.