Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
newbie, just ordered tamiya ta05 vdf II >

newbie, just ordered tamiya ta05 vdf II

newbie, just ordered tamiya ta05 vdf II

Old 04-10-2015, 08:02 PM
Tech Rookie

Default newbie, just ordered tamiya ta05 vdf II

Okay so I'm new to the rc world, i just ordered a tamiya ta05 vdf II. I couldn't find alot of upgrade parts for it except parts for the regular vdf and wanted to know if those parts will fit the vdf II. And what upgrades should i get as i don't like the plasticky look. Electronics will come later i want to make the chassis look like a beast first, let me know if you can help please thank you
Old 04-11-2015, 09:58 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

http://www.3racing-parts.com/shop/3r...1_582_600.html

- Carbon Fibre chassis and shock towers
- Aluminum shocks
- 2mm screw kit > because there is nothing beastly about philips screws.
Old 04-12-2015, 08:06 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)

Originally Posted by (0000000000)
http://www.3racing-parts.com/shop/3r...1_582_600.html

- Carbon Fibre chassis and shock towers
- Aluminum shocks
- 2mm screw kit > because there is nothing beastly about philips screws.
this kit already has all those parts.

I would keep to tamiya parts, but don't get caught into upgrading a VDF unless you have 700 plus to drop on it. bulkheads alone are well over 100 dollars.

however, sticking to tamiya parts, The most popular options tend to be bulkheads, front one way, rear aluminum hubs, front bumper hold down, carbon shock towers, aluminum sus mounts, aluminum wide angle steering set, and perhaps aluminum servo mounts.

I had a vdf 1 though, and having dumped lots into it, start with a yokomo or MST in the beginning if you want to upgrade the vdf. You will end up with a much more capable car in the right hands.
Old 04-13-2015, 06:46 PM
Tech Rookie

Okay thank you for your help guys it really did help me alot
Old 04-13-2015, 07:18 PM
Tech Rookie