R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-13-2002, 12:14 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default Power Supplies.

What kind of power supply would be necessary for running a Turbo 35? How much amps does the Turbo 35 take alone?
Would a 30 amp power supply be enought to run the Turbo 35, Millenium charger, and a lathe at the same time? How about 15?

Thanks,
Martin.
rcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2002, 02:05 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
madweazl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,579
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Well, just add up the consumption of the components. Dont imagine you'll ever be charging over 10 amps but using that as a benchmark say 10amps by two on your charger (20amps, realistic number for a lower setting as well) and what ever your lathe is going to be operating at (not positive but I would guess about half that number). A 30amp PS should be perfect for you. I've always had great luck with Rivergate, put out the power they claimed and were incredibly durable (and I'm not exagerating, put mine through hell on a few occasions, dead shorts, drops, 4 chargers at once, etc) and it always kept on pumpin.
madweazl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 12:09 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

30 amps is ideal, but in my case, im getting by with a 15amp power supply. i charge at 5 amps so its no problem. but when i break in motors and run a lathe, the meter shoots up to about 15amps. i just use a cooling fan on the power supply heatsink. been doing this for over a year with no problems. i can use 2 chargers at the same time at a 5 amp rate, but when using the motor run feature, i disconnect the other charger.
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 07:54 AM   #4
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

I use the N-power for my T-35 and Pitbull. Sometimes during motor run, it will shut off the PitBull if I am not careful, but otherwise i have no problems. I run the lathe while charging HV cells, ect.

-Troy
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 10:49 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default

Thanks for the responces guys. I'll just get a 30 amp unit to be safe.
rcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power supplies yokman sucks R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 09-23-2007 08:48 PM
20A power supplies $89 aus jd 2703 Australian Racing 3 06-26-2006 12:53 AM
2 POWER SUPPLIES F/S tazz888 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-12-2005 08:45 AM
Power Supplies GRB R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-17-2005 04:33 AM
FS: Power Supplies ctoms R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-21-2003 03:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:26 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net