R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-10-2005, 10:10 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
ksj44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middletown, PA
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default ESC Interference?

hi there, i don't know if anyone can help me but my gt7 esc is causing my radio system to glitch. i am running a novak xxl reciever and a futaba radio system and every time i try to put my reciever within 2 inches of my speed control it starts to glitch(with the motor running). i have taken the reciever and moved it around the chassis (with the motor running) and every time it is near the esc it starts to glitch bad. i have it mounted in a X-ray t1fk, and the way the chassis is laid out i have to either put the reciever by the speed control beside the esc or on the servo, which isn't ideal. i have tried the standard reciever and a different motor and i still have the problem. i have put aluminum foil between the two and it helped a little, but it still glitches every once in a while. i don't know if this is a common problem with the gt7, and if it is fixable. i had a similar layout in my tc3 (same electronics) and never had a problem. i hope someone can help. thanks keith
ksj44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 10:11 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
ksj44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middletown, PA
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

anybody?
ksj44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 11:33 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Is any part of the antenna touching any metal or carbon fibre parts? Or graphite? If it is, this could be part of the problem.

See if someone in your area has a spektrum reciever. That could narrow down the problem as they are not supposed to hear the car noises in terms of the electrical stuff.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 02:13 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rcguy2477
Default

Has there ever been any damage sustained to the esc?

I once had an esc that had some water get in it. It seemed to work fine afterward, but my car had a lot glitching. After hooking it up to a machine from Nomadio, I discovered that the esc was actually emitting a frequency that would interfere with the radio signal (this was abnormal for the esc I had, a lrp 7.1v).
__________________
1989 Mazda Rx7
greddy t04b, megasquirt ecu, PlX wideband, 12x28x3 fmic, 50mm hks clone wg, ssqv bov, Safc, ss oil lines, walbro fuel pump, tubo intake manifolds, ssac exhaust manifold, 3" dp, 550cc primary/720cc secondary injectors, etc.
rcguy2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 03:46 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
ksj44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middletown, PA
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

as far as i can tell there is no contact with the antenna and metal or carbon fiber. i usually take a peice of large shrink wrap and put it around the exposed antenna wire to make sure it doesn't have contact with anything. i have tried to take the reciever loose, of the chassis, and move it around while the motor was running and moved it around the chassis and as it starts to get closer to the esc it starts to glitch. so it must be the speed control, right? if i had a different esc i would try it, but i don't. i am not sure if this is normal of the gt7? as far as speed control damage, i guess it is possible. i had the large capacitor get dented one time but i replaced it soon after. i have noticed the bottom of the new one has bulged out some recently and i am not sure why or if this could be part of the problem? i'm not sure what the function of this is, but i thought it affected the speed control under breaking. thanks for the help and any more will be appreciated.

keith
ksj44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 04:23 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

If the bottom has bulged out, you might have overheated it. See if any of the other local racers have some equipment that you can try out. You can just bench test it so you don't have to take it out on the track. If everything works, leave the antenna down and walk away about 50-75 feet. If it works from that distance with the antenna down, you're good.
Try it with as much different equipment as you can. Motor's, ESC's, Receivers, servo's. You'll narrow it down that way.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 09:43 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
ksj44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middletown, PA
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

problem solved! i installed a new gtx this weekend and the glitch went away. evidently the gt7 was releasing some sort of interference. i wonder if it would be worth wild to send it back to novak. i'm not sure if they can fix this problem. thanks for the help

keith
ksj44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 11:22 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottmisfits
Is any part of the antenna touching any metal or carbon fibre parts? Or graphite? If it is, this could be part of the problem.

See if someone in your area has a spektrum reciever. That could narrow down the problem as they are not supposed to hear the car noises in terms of the electrical stuff.
I don't know what happen with my car....... It glitches to full throttle The full throttle glitch ONLY exist during the first 1 minute playing ( I guess it only glitch when the battery is full ).

My ESC is LRP QC2 and Receiver Futaba PCM R113ip. My receiver is insulated by alluminium foil on the side, bottom and underneath. All equipments are new.

I also have insulated the wire antenna with heat shrink tube at location where the antenna wire touch the graphite. I suspect either the Rcvr or LRP QC2 is the culprit Please see the photo for examination.

What do you suggest ?
Attached Thumbnails
ESC Interference?-bd-049x.jpg  
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 12:04 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
I don't know what happen with my car....... It glitches to full throttle The full throttle glitch ONLY exist during the first 1 minute playing ( I guess it only glitch when the battery is full ).

My ESC is LRP QC2 and Receiver Futaba PCM R113ip. My receiver is insulated by alluminium foil on the side, bottom and underneath. All equipments are new.

I also have insulated the wire antenna with heat shrink tube at location where the antenna wire touch the graphite. I suspect either the Rcvr or LRP QC2 is the culprit Please see the photo for examination.

What do you suggest ?
make sure That the slots for the batteries have been sealed with CA glue. A raw edge there will cause a glitch. Make sure you use at least three pieces of servo tape for your receiver and ESC . make sure the caps on the motor are good if not replace caps or replace motor.

If glitch is still there get a YOKOMO noise filter, use the two part shielding that it come with for the reciver ( not aluminum foil ) After all this you should be glitch free

below you will see one installed on a Xray fk

to get one click on this link
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...nid=64&id=2193
Attached Thumbnails
ESC Interference?-dscf0097.jpg  
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)

Last edited by howard hudson; 10-17-2005 at 12:14 PM.
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 10:40 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

I like the choke system of yours ......, that choke is for ESC wire or Steering Servo wire ?
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2005, 11:03 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Replacing the capacitor on the GT7 could help. I had a mate who had a glitching problem with his GT7, and as soon as he replaced the cap. all his glitching problems were gone.

Also, are you using an AM system?
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2005, 11:09 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Duratrax
Replacing the capacitor on the GT7 could help. I had a mate who had a glitching problem with his GT7, and as soon as he replaced the cap. all his glitching problems were gone.

Also, are you using an AM system?
I'm using Futaba PCM, btw, are you refering to the big capacitor ?
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2005, 11:10 PM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
Red RSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Duratrax
Replacing the capacitor on the GT7 could help. I had a mate who had a glitching problem with his GT7, and as soon as he replaced the cap. all his glitching problems were gone.

Also, are you using an AM system?
True, my friend also had the same cause, the cap has some dent and insulator comes off, might be some short circuit inside it.
Red RSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2005, 11:24 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
I'm using Futaba PCM, btw, are you refering to the big capacitor ?
Yes, that big capacitor that is separated from the ESC.
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2005, 11:46 PM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
Red RSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
I don't know what happen with my car....... It glitches to full throttle The full throttle glitch ONLY exist during the first 1 minute playing ( I guess it only glitch when the battery is full ).

My ESC is LRP QC2 and Receiver Futaba PCM R113ip. My receiver is insulated by alluminium foil on the side, bottom and underneath. All equipments are new.

I also have insulated the wire antenna with heat shrink tube at location where the antenna wire touch the graphite. I suspect either the Rcvr or LRP QC2 is the culprit Please see the photo for examination.

What do you suggest ?
I ever have this kind of probs, I use JR Receiver R300 with Sanwa VRX and GTX esc.

where did you put aluminum foil insulator? inside that receiver? I can't see on your BD,

1st, in my case, after check wiring, antenna, motor condition, etc. thoroughly, I found out that when I check / open receiver casing thera are some small rock / debris nested inside this behind the receiver PCB and I think cause random internal short circuit on it> glitch,

Please you may check inside the receiver casing.

2nd, easy way > have you try put other motor, if then OK then check the prev. motor.
sometimes :
- rotor comm are in bad condition, long time no lathe or forget clean up the groove after lathe (FREQUENTLY).
- blown out motor capasitor (3 pcs on endbell) (SOMETIMES).
- blown out schottky diode (RARELY) due to mis connection when brea in brushes.

strange glitch can occurs on full batt condition almost sure due to big arcing brush vs comm (due to bad comm condition..) that can't be absorbed by the (damaged) motor capasitor..

3rd, if 1st and 2nd OK, QC2 is waterproof rite? whatever..
try switch to another ESC on that combo.. If OK then its the bug,

hope you find out the cure immediately save your BD from broken parts unnecessarily, goodluck..

sorry for long post..
Red RSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help please with interference Wing Chun Electric On-Road 26 02-22-2007 08:37 PM
interference help riley1131 Electric On-Road 11 01-21-2007 11:21 AM
Interference makytc4 Electric On-Road 5 06-11-2006 05:17 AM
Interference please help Mr-s413bt Australian Racing 17 05-04-2004 10:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net