R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2005, 07:42 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 18
Default Do I need to break in new motor?

Very new to this just got new motor over weekend I'm only going to run stock, but do I need to break it in and if so for how long? Next question bought a used Novak Millenium with ESC. Its only 12v whats cheapest way to run? Power supply? Also for new batteries anything I should do before race? thanks Del
Del32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 07:48 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Superkarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Scarborough Australia
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yes u should run it in. See that the brushes have serrations on them run the motor at 2 volts until they disappear. As for the charger u can use a car battery or a power supply. And with the batteries maybe cycle them once or twice but make sure they don't get to hot during charge or discharge. Also if u have a comm lathe give the comm a skim it's power for nothing. HAve fun racing
Superkarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 07:58 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Davo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Australia, Victoria
Posts: 648
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Hi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Del32
Very new to this just got new motor over weekend I'm only going to run stock, but do I need to break it in and if so for how long? Next question bought a used Novak Millenium with ESC. Its only 12v whats cheapest way to run? Power supply? Also for new batteries anything I should do before race? thanks Del
Hi,

I used to run stock and i would run the motor in from new for a hour(to run the bushings in)(oil it every 10 mins) then cut it and put new brushes in it and run it in for 2 mins.as for the charger the cheapest way to run it would be a car battery but i think it would be easier to just buy a power supply.

Davo
__________________
XRAY
LRP
Much More
Davo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 08:27 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,678
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davo
Hi,

I used to run stock and i would run the motor in from new for a hour(to run the bushings in)(oil it every 10 mins) then cut it and put new brushes in it and run it in for 2 mins.

what's the point of doing that? I have been told by many people this method, to break the motor in, run it for 2 minutes at 2 volts. That's it that's all you need to do. And running the motor in until the serrations are gone?! They are there for a reason! When they are gone, you loose the benefit of the serrated brush and therefore whould be replaced once they are gone. When you break a motor in, all you are doing is seating the brushes to the comm.
o.s. power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 08:31 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

That's my experience too, although the serrations are there to help speed up the break-in process among other things. 2 minutes at 2V is about right. I never run it in so long till the serrations are gone. Seems like if you waited that long, you'd start to get carbon build up again.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 10:42 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,054
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Running in your motor.. Put it in the car and run it for a practice run .. The brushes will be seated and the motor will be run in with a load on it . which to me is better ... power supply is the best way to run your charger . but If your using a car battery get a deep cell marine battery . you should be able to run all day with out it loosing too much charge to run your charger ... Batteries .. cycle them once .. 30amp discharge then equalize them before you charge them up to race ... good luck and have fun at the races..
__________________
Mark Barden .
mb racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 07:07 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Here is a link to the best, cheapest and small Power supply....

I have two they have not had a problem in over a year and half.
http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv200.htm

the breaking is good.
I like 1min @ 1 amp but I am more inclined to go 2min and 2 amp now.

-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motor lathe/motor break in andy_b22 Electric On-Road 4 05-17-2006 06:29 PM
Do I need to break in my new motor? Captjono Electric On-Road 6 03-03-2005 06:25 AM
Motor Break DOES Higher AMP draw = better motor? Travis S Electric On-Road 13 02-12-2005 03:02 AM
New Motor Break-in!!! hicheef Nitro On-Road 10 05-05-2003 11:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net