R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2005, 12:04 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England!
Posts: 1,332
Default LRP QC2 Question (could not find thread)

Ok, i just installed a QC2 set it up, ran it with no wheels on at full throttle, i wiggled the steering quite fast and the motor slows as if the servo is using up too much power. Is this normal? im running a KO propo 2343 and running a PT off the battery pack....

Thanks,
__________________
[SIZE=1][COLOR=navy]Paul Heyhoe[/COLOR][/SIZE]
pheyhoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 12:10 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

It sounds more like the battery was dead or dying.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 01:23 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England!
Posts: 1,332
Default

Just tried a fully charged battery and the same thing is happening...
__________________
[SIZE=1][COLOR=navy]Paul Heyhoe[/COLOR][/SIZE]
pheyhoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 01:27 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

Are you running the servo off the FET wire from the speedo, Im sure that uses 7.2v instead of the usual 6v which may drain the battery more than normal. Also, I heard that alot of people had problems running a QC2 along with a PT, many people had to use a MRT bug booster.
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 01:37 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England!
Posts: 1,332
Default

hmmm, i know people where having problems running the PT. but i am running it directly off the battery so the speedo does not get a say in how much power goes to the PT.

The servo runs on 6.0v from the reciever. Well, 5.8v as thats all that comes out of the speedo.
__________________
[SIZE=1][COLOR=navy]Paul Heyhoe[/COLOR][/SIZE]
pheyhoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 02:01 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pheyhoe
hmmm, i know people where having problems running the PT. but i am running it directly off the battery so the speedo does not get a say in how much power goes to the PT.

The servo runs on 6.0v from the reciever. Well, 5.8v as thats all that comes out of the speedo.

is this stock 19 or mod?
wen on full lock the driveshafts take out a lot of power,this could be you prob.
id just test it on the track.
__________________
Tamiya
Much More Racing
LRP electronic
Futaba
Speedtechrc
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 02:34 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England!
Posts: 1,332
Default

Its a peak dynasty 19t. if you wiggle the steering really fast maybe 50% lock you can hear the motor juddering. I think it will be ok on the track because im never going to be hammering the servo that much. i just wondered if it were the same on everybodys QC2..
__________________
[SIZE=1][COLOR=navy]Paul Heyhoe[/COLOR][/SIZE]
pheyhoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 02:51 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Charles Godwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK (England)
Posts: 1,129
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Check if there are any 'nicks' in the wires, if you aren't running a schotty (probably spelt wrong) diode put one on, try a different motor as the motor can sometimes be the problem. If all this fails send off to be checked for faults etc etc.

Charles
__________________
DXR | CML Distribution | Paint by Turnip Paint | TKRgraphics.com
Charles Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 02:52 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

have you got a fet choke on your servo wire?
John_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 03:11 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England!
Posts: 1,332
Default

Hmm.... im not using a FET lead. Infact ive cut the FET lead off my speedo completely. Ive never seen a choke on a servo running at 6.0v

There are "nicks" in the battery wires. Ones that i made to solder wires to... but none on any wires going to the servo/reciever.

Il put a schotty on and see how it goes..
__________________
[SIZE=1][COLOR=navy]Paul Heyhoe[/COLOR][/SIZE]
pheyhoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 07:26 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
the_barbarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 652
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I had a similar problem I think to yours and it was just a matter of re-configuring the esc to the receiver

follow the instuctions on setting up the esc

also if you running some digital servos and hrs receivers you can have these problems if they dont match up well eg ko and futaba together always a pain
__________________
I've tried the rest but XRAY is the best 555
the_barbarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 07:34 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,504
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

i know this sounds stupid, but i dont know why, probably cause im retarted, but i cant figure out hiow to check what punch controll setting is on it. i cant quite figure it out from the directions, any help appreciated, thx
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 03:25 PM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamPink91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Central FL
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to TeamPink91
Default

I always had similar problems with my Quantum 2 and the steering sucking up a lot power when turned quickly, and I think a lot of the problem is the lower BEC voltage of the Quantum 2. So, I installed a 4700 uf capacitor to my receiver to help smooth out the power jult and ever since it has been perfect.
TeamPink91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 04:38 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pheyhoe
Ok, i just installed a QC2 set it up, ran it with no wheels on at full throttle, i wiggled the steering quite fast and the motor slows as if the servo is using up too much power. Is this normal? im running a KO propo 2343 and running a PT off the battery pack....

Thanks,
Its a common problem with the QC2 and the New KO servos.
I had the same problem so I went to the KO thread. Apparently the KO tech told me that this is a common problem with the QC2. The BEC is too low to handle the newer KO servos. Some people have run capacitors with success and some have not. I could not get it to work even with a cap. I had to sell my 2343 and go with another. It all depends on the combination of Servo, Receiver & PT if it will work or not. I ran a JRRS310, QC2 and KO2343. Like I said, I could not get it to work.
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2005, 10:21 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

This is off of the topic of the thread, but I didnt want to start a new one. My QC2 blew because the positive wire broke off where it connects to the esc, and it just went full throttle and started smoking. Im not sure if it should have blown under these circumstances. The wire falling off was my fault, but it seems strange to me that the esc is just waiting to blow and there is just one external solder joint preventing it. I have it set up so that the positive wire goes from the esc to the motor, and that wire is spliced and the wire that goes to the positive on the battery is soldered onto it.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about thread lock Imperator Nitro Off-Road 5 11-13-2007 01:44 PM
Frost's Newbie Question Thread :D Frost99999 Rookie Zone 7 06-30-2007 12:47 PM
Quick Question: Iwata to Badger Thread Size Difference Mini_Me Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography 0 11-14-2006 07:48 AM
HK for sale thread/wanted to buy thread....finally Got Xray? Hong Kong Racing 1 04-06-2006 09:37 PM
Another Break-in Question Thread jcrouse Nitro On-Road 7 08-01-2003 11:19 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:06 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net