R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2005, 08:58 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default FMA Direct Lipos

So has any one here used these things. One of the guys at my local track has them and all i could say was wow.
ATXPro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 08:33 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I did run mine last weekend ATX and it was awsome. I only used 1 pack all night and no problems. I ran a U-force 75 with a Lehner 5300 and all I can say is it was off the hook.

I ran with some very fast guys running 7 and 8 turn motor and they were super impressed with my car.

I did have a weight advantage. My car is over 300grams lite. I ran a few 10 second laps when the fastest guys were running 12 - 13 second lap times.

I am hooked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
https://www.gofundme.com/ncontrol
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 08:36 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Cool Joe, i just ordered one today and it should be here by friday so ill be running it saturday, along with my new GTB 5.5 turn.
ATXPro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 10:08 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 845
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

ATX,
Are you refering to the refering to the FMA scorpion lipo packs or the balance pro packs?
vadn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 07:10 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vadn1
ATX,
Are you refering to the refering to the FMA scorpion lipo packs or the balance pro packs?
the scorpion version.
ATXPro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 07:42 AM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 22
Default Kokam cells

If you have a charger that is Lipo capable (needs a Constant Current/Constant Voltage mode), you can save a lot by getting the KOK3200-20C-2S-DNS https://www.fmadirect.com/site/fma.h...roducts&cat=28
Same cells, but without the bells and whistles.


I have two of these packs. The difference is they don't require the Scorpion Charger and they do not have a low voltage cut off circuit. We have a couple of ICE chargers with temperature sensors for charging. I don't worry about the low voltage cut-off. I keep track of charge state by measuring it and checking package voltage with a DVM. It is very repeatable. Using an LRP Brushless in the PRO 4, we use up only 1200 mah in a 5 minute race. If you use the FMA Lipo calculator you'll see that you can safely pull about 2800 mah from these cells so discharge is not really an issue. Using an 11T with a QC2, I use 1400 mah in the other PRO 4.
thepitcrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 06:06 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
rayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Catch me if you can!
Posts: 741
Default

I just read an old issue of rc car action where this is reviewed. Seems perfect for elec rc. Less charging time(20 mins ), more consistent output and less weight? So why are only a few people getting it with new chargers supporting lipo like muchmore, aps, etc. The scorpion 2s charger looks basic so any feedback? I really hate charging batts for an hour. Sometimes that's the plus of nitro there's no waiting.
rayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 06:49 PM   #8
PDI
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 17
Default

I have the scorpion 3200's and charger. I can run a 5 min. race and recharge the battery in about 10 min. or top them off in 30. They are very lite but you have to get creative in mounting because they are smaller than a normal battery and your reciever has to be close for the power cut-off wires but its a small price to pay for the performance.
Mine stay real cool after a good run or after charging. Have yet to get one much past room temp.
The charger looks basic but gets the job done and I would rather be safe with these types of batteries. They have been worth every penny so far.
PDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 08:03 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Anyone know if...

Orion's Lipos will have a cut off voltage harness?
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 08:03 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Anyone have good luck charging Lipos with...

the Ice charger?
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Old direct drive car or sprint car mopar70 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 04-23-2008 10:30 AM
3s Lipo Direct fit into RC18 JeromeB Micro and Mini Scales 0 09-13-2007 03:28 AM
FMA Direct adapter help!! Nitr0Racing06 RC Flight 1 06-01-2007 12:08 AM
Which engine is a direct fit in a???? famous182 Electric Off-Road 0 10-13-2003 07:23 PM
FS: Direct TV P4 Card bgolat Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 06-30-2003 11:55 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:52 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net