Search
Like Tree5Likes

Help with 1/10 touring car motor and esc

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2015, 10:22 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Help with 1/10 touring car motor and esc

Hi all I'm new to electric rc cars and am trying to find a motor and esc for a 1/10 tourer any suggestions or help is appreciated also I have the opportunity to purchase an lrp vector x12 modified 4T motor is this suitable for a tourer or not?
Old 01-28-2015, 10:42 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

Originally Posted by fizzy
Hi all I'm new to electric rc cars and am trying to find a motor and esc for a 1/10 tourer any suggestions or help is appreciated also I have the opportunity to purchase an lrp vector x12 modified 4T motor is this suitable for a tourer or not?
I don't mean to sound negative, but the x12 is a very aggressive motor, some call it a light switch, it's so torquey.

I personally run team powers motors, and like them, but hobby wing and the later model reedy motors are pretty darn great as well.

Lastly, I think a 4.5 is a sweet spot for modified, gearing and speedo timing can give you whatever you need for various tracks.

Good luck.
Ethan
Old 01-28-2015, 10:49 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)

Racing or just messing around in the parking lot?

If racing, it's very difficult to just jump into mod, especially never having raced before. A 4t motor is incredibly powerful, no matter what brand you're looking at. I like Hobbywing stuff the most. Usually less cost than other guys, but it's a fantastic product.

If you're beginning racing, look into VTA or 17.5, whatever your local track runs.

I remember when I started RC cars, even a 25.5 motor felt incredibly fast. Even now, in mod I only ran a 5.0 motor with no boost, and just very little turbo.
Old 01-28-2015, 11:20 PM
Tech Addict