R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2005, 08:33 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Stevietd14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 798
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Stevietd14 Send a message via Yahoo to Stevietd14
Post Discharger and equalizer help

I have a couple questions regarding discharging and equalizing batteries.

I did a search and have been reading this thread ( http://rctech.net/forum/showthread.p...ght=discharger ) but it did not answer all of my questions.

Ok so here it goes.I just bought about 3 used batteries, in addition to my 3 already.All are GP3300 at about 1.191.I ran them for about a day and wasn't happy with their performance in comparison to my 1.15's.I checked the volts of each cell in each pack with a volt meter.I got a lot of varying numbers, which I was told was the reason for my low runtime and lack of punch.I was told the best way to "fix" them was to equalize the packs.I used the "Matching" feature of my Pulsar Comp. Charger to equalize them, but the results were not the best.

Being with a RC knowledgable friend at the time, he informed me that I would get better results with a discharger with a higher amp discharge.I was looking for some quality dischargers when I ran into some questions.Does a discharger equalize the cells?, Or is there a completly differnt unit to equalize them?I was looking at the Novak smart tray and the Integy zero thirty.Would these be good choices for what I am looking for?Any additional information on dischargers or equalzing etc. would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Steve
Stevietd14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 09:18 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,505
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

get the integy 0-30. it discharges each cell individually so it equalizes as it discharges. I also noticed a pretty good improvement. my punch, runtime, and speed have gone up, plus its $50 bux chaeper than a smart tray, at least at my lhs
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 09:23 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Stevietd14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 798
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Stevietd14 Send a message via Yahoo to Stevietd14
Default

I forgot one thing.Since i hear the zero thirty tqakes the pack down to 0 volts,Is that deadshorting?Would that be bad to have the zero thirty deadshort each pack instead of the smart tray's .9 volts?Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Steve
Stevietd14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 09:25 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,505
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

i believe if you take it out when the light go out, the pack still has some charge, if you let it sit, it will deadshort the pack
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 09:30 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,505
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

if the pack is deadshorted, the internal resistance goes down, so your punch and speed goes up. but the packs overall life is shortend this way, but that isnt an issue for some. btw you can have the smart tray dead short, you just have to reprogram it it comes set at .9v per cell
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 10:46 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
SOuthernFRIED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Olive Branch,MS
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

The pack will only be deadshorted if it stays on the tray until you charge it. As soon as you remove the pack from the tray it begins to regain some charge. The tray takes 12-14 hours to fully bring a pack to zero volts.
__________________
James Cooper
SouthernFriedRacing
[email protected]
SOuthernFRIED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 08:39 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Stevietd14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 798
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Stevietd14 Send a message via Yahoo to Stevietd14
Default

Figured out the deadshort stuff but I still have the questions from the first post.Thanks
Steve
Stevietd14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 12:11 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UCLA
Posts: 196
Default

Discharge board will equalize your packs and the 0-30 is the way to go, that's what everyone is getting at my track. Some people are trying to use the pulse discharger but apparently the result is not too impressive, the actual discharge current is less than 1A.
RickyIS300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 05:05 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,505
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

yuo should get the 0-30. it equalizes, deadshorts, and has a 30 amp discharge. and its 50 bux chaeper than a smart tray, and i still cant computate plugging in a disgharger. plus the 0-30's box tells you how it makes a diffrence!
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 02:21 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Stevietd14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 798
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Stevietd14 Send a message via Yahoo to Stevietd14
Default

I think i have decided on the Integy INDI Zero-Thirty.I was just wondering what do i need to run this discharger?Anything?Cord to connect to AC output?Or do I just stick the batts on and clamp em in?
Stevietd14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 02:34 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
tr1kstanc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 357
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Does the 0-30 require a DC power supply? From its description it has a 12v line so I'm just curious if I'll have to pick up a psu too.
__________________
☆ Joe Tran ☆
tr1kstanc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 03:44 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Why a 30a discharger? Sure, it will discharge in minutes, but a 3a discharger will always be better for your cells.

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 03:54 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Piyo Piyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jakarta - INDONESIA
Posts: 3,051
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Duratrax
Why a 30a discharger? Sure, it will discharge in minutes, but a 3a discharger will always be better for your cells.

Sean
With 3A discharge on Ni-Mh, you will lose the punch and power of your battery then, unless it is for equalizing discharge. Bigger discharge rate will mantain the battery power.
__________________
VIOLA ARIELLE & FLOREN ISABELLE
Piyo Piyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 06:27 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,505
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

you dont need anything extra to run it, but it has the ability to be hooked up to 12v dc for extra cooling power, although unnnesccecary unless discharging from a full charge
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 08:09 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
jdm19turn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 404
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i have a zero thirty discharger and it works perfect after i run a pack i discharge it on the zero-thirty and leave it for 45-60 mins before recharging it again you'l notice a difference in punch and if you do it every time after a run you'l start seeing the difference when ya cycle your cells on your charger but the key is sticken with the same routine once you start it
__________________
mi4 ,mi5
jdm19turn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wtb: Much More discharger/equalizer Tater salad R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-01-2008 10:51 PM
0.9V Cutoff Discharger/Equalizer stickman310 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 04:56 PM
WTB: Cheap Equalizer/Discharger peded R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-18-2006 08:31 PM
Discharger/Equalizer same thing??? nmt6789 Rookie Zone 3 07-23-2004 06:07 PM
Discharger and Equalizer F/S micros_rock R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-22-2004 06:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:44 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net