R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2001, 06:28 AM   #31
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New Ash Green, Kent, England
Posts: 111
Default

I think you will find that Charlie is correct the prime use of the Shottky is to keep down the temperature on the Brake FETS thus avoiding the situation where the FETS get too hot and the Brakes go off towards the latter half of a race.
There is an explanation of this on the Novak site or at least there was last time I was there.
Bosscat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2001, 07:45 AM   #32
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 250
Send a message via ICQ to JesseT
Default

Yes yes, of course, but what heats them up? Is it the free spin or the back voltage?
JesseT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2001, 09:19 AM   #33
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

TSR6 emailed me that some assistance was needed.

http://teamnovak.com/Tech_info/index.htm

That is a link to our Tech Info section. You can get the exact definitions there if you like.

If you ever have a question for me please email me directly. I cannot check this particular forum on a regular basis. All technical data on our ESCs and recommendations can be found in the Tech Info Section.

JesseT- yes, I'm sure.

Schottky Diodes keep the internal components of the ESC cooler during all operation. Even if your ESC has an internal schottky, an external is beneficial. Never use Schottky Diodes on ESC that use Reverse.

Power Capacitors catch ripple current that is created by the extremely high rate that the Cyclone and Atom speed controls turn the FETS on and off. The Cyclone and Atom switch the mosfets on at a higher rate than most speed controls. The advantages are more evident with the Cyclone and Atom speed controls. Adding capacitance (i.e.: Larger caps or multiple caps) will keep the ESC and the capacitors cooler. Cooler is always better. We have found that our large 4700 uF capacitor is more than enough for even the most sever conditions.
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2001, 07:03 PM   #34
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 10
Default

Hi all ,

I'v a problem on my Novak TC ESC.
Before my last ride , everything was ok and fine.
But when I prepare for my ride yesterday , I found my motor did not work.
Everything looks fine except the motor don't run.
The setup function and lights on ESC is ok and work .
I use pit wizard to connect my TC , upload and download is also woking fine.
I'v replace the diode , capacitor and motor ,even change my receiver and transceiver.
I can make sure my TC was damaged ,but I don't know why?
Can anybody help me?
AlexT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2001, 07:54 PM   #35
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Damn, same problem with me too...but the Cyclone i got is the first generation one...I still dont know what the problem is...I'm just thinking my motor is not working...

So is it my Cyclone that is not working?
All the set up lights works...my receiver works and radio too, I still got steering but no throttle at all....

So what is the problem...
Same case with AlexT...
My suddenly dont work too....on the race day too
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2001, 10:36 AM   #36
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Anybody could help us here????
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2001, 10:53 AM   #37
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

I had this problem once, I think I finually traced it down to a poor solder joint from one of the motor wires from the ESC!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2001, 12:01 PM   #38
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

OH...no problem on that, i checked...

I just hope that it's not my cyclone's problem...

today i plug a stick pack battery directly to the motor[540Sport Tuned], but still no response...so i have to assume that its really the motor....

But, last time on the race day, I borrow someones Silver Can 540 Motor and I put it on, but the power is still so slow...
Since i got non-matched 1700 sanyo batteries, so I asked some guy to lend me a matched 2400, but still no luck...same thing is happening to the Speed of the Silver Can...
What should I do??
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2001, 03:04 AM   #39
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via ICQ to dtm
Default

Have you phyiscally de-soldered and re-soldered the motor wires...... mine 'looked' just fine also! I even checked it with a multimeter..... but that was the last thing I did which cured the problem!
dtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2001, 03:40 AM   #40
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TFR
OH...no problem on that, i checked...

I just hope that it's not my cyclone's problem...

today i plug a stick pack battery directly to the motor[540Sport Tuned], but still no response...so i have to assume that its really the motor....

But, last time on the race day, I borrow someones Silver Can 540 Motor and I put it on, but the power is still so slow...
Since i got non-matched 1700 sanyo batteries, so I asked some guy to lend me a matched 2400, but still no luck...same thing is happening to the Speed of the Silver Can...
What should I do??
It is obvious that your motor has excessive wore either on the comm or brushes.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2001, 02:11 PM   #41
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

oh, ok thanx guys...

thinking about buying a stock motor now...rather keep on wasting money to buy 540sport tuned.
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak cyclone original model..... SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 02-05-2006 12:39 PM
KO radio, Novak GT7, Novak Cyclone, Servos, TC3 RichChang R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 10-03-2005 08:54 PM
F/S - Novak Dually & Novak Cyclone ESCs rctoyguy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-13-2005 09:45 PM
FS:Losi MFE1,Novak Cyclone and a 27mhz Novak XXL TexRacer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 03-08-2005 03:16 PM
FOR SALE: XXX BK2, Novak GT7, Novak cyclone 2nd edition gporta77 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-18-2004 06:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:50 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net