R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2002, 09:13 PM   #46
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Build a break-in pack

BuggZI;

Build a 2-3 cell pack just for break in. $10-15 maybe. Just solder some leads with small alligator clips to the pack to hook up to the motor.
Also if you cut the Com, you can use your old brushes if they are not burned. Just break the motor in for a few mins.

Steevo;

Try changing your Final Drive Ratio to a higher number. (6.80-vs-7.20) but maybe not such a big jump. You get the idea. This will lessen the load on the motor and should make little difference on top speed. Especially if your overgeared.

Last edited by popsracer; 12-04-2002 at 10:38 PM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 09:18 PM   #47
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Arcing/motor suggestion

BuggZI;

Once you seat/break-in the brushes properly, the arcing should be at a minimum. The Core Stock is a very good motor from what I've been told. If you are using brushes with a higher silver content. They will take longer to break-in than an all copper brush. Silver brushes also make more power but wear the Com faster.

Last edited by popsracer; 12-04-2002 at 10:36 PM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 09:21 PM   #48
Tech Fanatic
 
Steevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TIMMAY!!!
Posts: 980
Default

Thanks Pops,
I think that I messed up on my FDR figure though. I just read what I wrote and it seems to be wrong. If my spur is 96 and my pinion is 24 and my Internal ratio is 2.13 then I make my FDR to be 8.52. (it must have been late when I did those first figures).
So now I assume that this would be too high???
Let me know what you think and thanks again for your help

Steevo

PS I think the last answer about the brushes and stock motor was for Buggzi.
Steevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 09:55 PM   #49
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default HOT Motors

Steevo;

8.52 is probably close to what you should be running for a 10x4.
Something that I forgot to ask is if your are Racing or just playing around. The reason I ask is; if your running that motor for longer than what a 5 minute race is. You can overheat it severly. I've seen guys melt the solder off the brushhoods from overheating.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 10:11 PM   #50
Tech Fanatic
 
Steevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TIMMAY!!!
Posts: 980
Default

Thanks Pops,
Running the motor too long is not a problem cause my packs dump at just over 5 mins run time.
In all honesty I don't really have too many worries about the motor being too hot because as i mentioned earlier according to rollout figures I should be pretty spot on with the gearing. I just thought that I would gain some outside opinions on the subject.
My comm is not wearing at an extraordinary rate and the blue on the comm is not very severe at all. It is only a very feint blue and in small streaks. Also there does not seem to be any excessive arcing in fact there is practically no arching until almost full throttle which in my opinion does not seem excessive although I am not sure how much a motor is suppose to arc in normal circumstances.

Steevo
Steevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 10:34 PM   #51
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Arcing at full throttle

Steevo;

I do notice arcing at full throttle on my Stock motors too, But if it was severe then I think the radio would be glitching. Maybe do a new post asking for mod motor help. I don't think the Com should be changing color, but maybe Mods do.

At my age it's easy to get confused.

Last edited by popsracer; 12-04-2002 at 10:40 PM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 10:56 PM   #52
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sydney OZ
Posts: 35
Default

Thanks for all the advice Popsracer...
I will try running it in with the 2-3cell setup and see how it goes..
I think what I am seeing is a result of my bad procedures and not the motor...
BuggZI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:51 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net