Wiki Posts
Search

what to get

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2014, 03:12 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default what to get

Guys, I am just getting into electric touring. I live in Vietnam and they have no real rules as far as electronics goes. I picked up two used kits a t3 and a trf 415. They are both just too slow for my liking and I have no idea what type of esc or motor they have. So my questions are can I upgrade a t3 to a t4? What about the trf 415 can I upgrade it to at least a 417? Also what would be the fastest esc combo I could get. All of my past experience has been off road so this is all new to me. I have a MT4s and a MT12 sanwa remote. I was looking at a Tekin combo with the 4.5 turn and a castle 7000 kv, but hobby wing also has a nice 4.5 combo, what would be the fastest and most reliable. I also noticed that some of the esc can run a 3s would it be better to just run the 7600 2s or would a 3s be useable? This might have been asked before but I just really want speed, their tracks are ran on small tennis courts here so I could swap some top speed for some torque but prefer the faster the better
Old 11-06-2014, 03:38 AM
Tech Fanatic

Well, I'm new to touring cars as well, but even I know that faster is not necessarily better.

Starting with a 4.5T motor (modified) on small tracks seems not to be the optimum starting point.

Maybe 17.5T or 13.5T running in blinky mode, advancing to boosted/timing modes, would be a better start.

About your asking upgrading your 415 to a 417, I don't know how feasible this is, I would much rather concentrate on getting the right motor/esc combo and some training.

If your cars are slow, I don't think it is a matter of car versions, maybe I'm reading your post wrongly?

Running touring car on 3s, never heard about it.