R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2005, 06:14 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
woozer71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default 540 RUN IN

I would like to know what is the best method to run in a 540 motor? I have heard of so many ways and would like your comments on this subject.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Fraser Coast RC Car Club/FCRCCC
VBC D06 / Xray T4 2013
Yokomo BMax2 ver 2 - Tamiya F104 x1
Sanwa MT-4
woozer71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 06:40 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Talking

hi

i didnt know much about running them in, i was told to run in 1.2v cell for a few minutes.... i accidentally left it running for about 2 hours... coz i forgot about it... i ran it in a race a few days later... .. i was racing my mini in the novice 4wd tourer class as there were only 2 mini entrants... i was running down stock tourers in the straight

here are some quotes

"damm that is a fast mini"

"that is the fastest mini i have ever seen"

"my mini doesnt go that fast"

noobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 07:02 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Run it in 7-up or water with washing up liquid in for 30 seconds, remove and dry, then oil up the brushings and spin it by hand a few times. Should be good to go.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 04:05 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Mad Mackem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,580
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Some people are usin the pulse break in mode on the Much More Motor Master or APS but I'm not sure what settings to use.
Mad Mackem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 01:43 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Au
Posts: 329
Default

hi i was wondering with water dip ... do it untill the bushing start to touch the comm?

the shape will be like this is like an 'E' where the tips just start to touch the comm....

or run it in untill the bushing goes like this (


THANKS
qwerty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 03:21 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
loopedeloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whangarei Newzealand
Posts: 490
Default

If your asking about silver can 540's,

Start at 2v for 1/2 hour , reoil, then 4v for as long as you can stand it (hours)

Keep oiling occaisionally.

The brushes in these motors are very hard and a bit of patience really pays off.

As noobie said......"
Quote:
i accidentally left it running for about 2 hours... coz i forgot about it... i ran it in a race a few days later... .. i was racing my mini in the novice 4wd tourer class as there were only 2 mini entrants... i was running down stock tourers in the straight
loopedeloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 04:35 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
Talking

Running Mardave v12s on the oval in UK all the top guys water dip their motors and use brake cleaner or WD40 and cotton buds to clean the comm between heats.

Makes a very big difference!!!!
AEDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 07:04 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
woozer71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

I have heard of people running there motors in braso at 2 volts for 40minutes, than cleaning the entire motor than oiling the bushes. Has anyone else heard of this?
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Fraser Coast RC Car Club/FCRCCC
VBC D06 / Xray T4 2013
Yokomo BMax2 ver 2 - Tamiya F104 x1
Sanwa MT-4
woozer71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 07:06 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,834
Default

Make sure you get that brasso out of there with motor spray. A loose bushing with increase HP!
Homer Allman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2005, 07:58 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

I've even heard of running a 540 motor in Cola

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 01:08 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
wolfman76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hello my darling
Posts: 113
Default

How long can you get out of these motors before you have to replace them
wolfman76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 01:41 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to ford_racing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfman76
How long can you get out of these motors before you have to replace them

basically till their magnets become weak, bout every 7-8 meetings
__________________
ARC R11
Yokomo YRF001
AE B5m
ford_racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 02:12 AM   #13
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Coca Cola... rubbing alcohol... water.. Sprite... 7-up. its all been done. TRUST ME.

careful not to break it in too long. although some silver cars have HARD brushes.. some do not.... i was breaking one in.... forgot about it.. when i came back from watching my dvd... the motor had stopped. the BRUSHES WERE GONE!

never tried brasso though
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 10:08 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfman76
How long can you get out of these motors before you have to replace them
Around 4 months of regular use each day.

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 04:35 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
wolfman76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hello my darling
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woozer71
I have heard of people running there motors in braso at 2 volts for 40minutes, than cleaning the entire motor than oiling the bushes. Has anyone else heard of this?
What does Braso do
wolfman76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:10 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net