R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2005, 05:55 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 123
Default AMBrc Personal Transponder

Hi,

Got on eBay a 2nd AMB PT, in order to be able to run two class without additional pain.

I would like to know if I got a damage unit, or if my time man was unable to configure properly the transponder.

The light on the AMB is getting green when is power up ... but passing on the track line don't show any lap count !

The 2nd AMP PT look identical to my original one (never had a single issue with my 1st AMB PT). WIth the only excpetion that the my 2nd AMB has a stupid green circle spot where is the led ... making very hard to know if the AMB PT is on with sunlight ... the 1st AMB PT doesn't have this green spot ... and when is power up is more visible the light.

Any idea why my 2nd AMB doesn't work ?

e_lm_70

P.S: This time our time man had to use a spare computer ... with the old computer there was a software where was more easy to see all the lap time, even without register the transponder code on the sistem.

P.S: Is there any chance that the code on the unit is wrong ?
e_lm_70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 08:02 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Where did you mount the AMB?
Fibre/metal chassis tend to block/hamper the signal...
Try the AMB plugged iin but not attached to your chassis.
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 08:03 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
kerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,157
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

my guess is that the number on the second pt is not registered or setup with your computer system or race management program, when you drive your car across the line do you here any sound? what software are you using? make sure its not mounted onto any graphite surface sometimes the chasiss can cause a problem with reception. one last thing check to see if the pt works in someone elses car.
kerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 08:10 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 123
Default

My AMB was mounted with servo tape over my servo ... in a TA05 ... no CF.
I have seen some other guys doing the same...

My working AMB is mouned on the upper layer of CF in my F201 (3Racing chassis = full CF chassis) ... never had a problem with it!

The time man is a very experience guy ... we did try twice , in two different time of the day.

Does anybody knows if there is a different between AMB PT with the green point ... from the one that are plan red over the light ... ???

My working AMB has a orange light ... while the non working one has a green light !

e_lm_70
e_lm_70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 10:14 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
kerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,157
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

the one with the green light is just a newer version of the pt i have a few of each style, ask someone else to try it in there car, i have had this problem with one of my cars and it worked in a friends car so we swapped.
kerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 11:02 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

I had a problem with one of my PT's not counting laps. I had been using it for over a year when it stopped. I sent it in to AMb and they sent me a new one. It cost me $8 s/h.
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 02:12 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 123
Default

AMB has promptly reply my email.

They have offer me to send to them for verify and eventually fix it.

I will go that way.

The AMB PT are quite expensive, but it look like AMB is taking a lot of care of their customers.

Thanks

e_lm_70
e_lm_70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 03:35 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Its good to hear from someone that AMD has great customer service.Cause I just purchased a used PT from a friend.And everyone knows that 2nd stuff aren't as good as brand new ones.
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 04:56 AM   #9
Tech Master
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 1,748
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Make sure you have it plugged into the receiver correctly. I had mine plugged in backwards once and even though the light was on...it didn't count. The light was dim when plugged in backwards and brighter when plugged in correctly.
Lowrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Personal transponder AMBrc rcfoolz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-02-2008 08:46 PM
AMBrc Personal Transponder ryanhaynie R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 03-15-2008 11:14 PM
NEW AMBrc personal transponder old_fart_racing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 08-28-2006 07:15 PM
ambrc personal transponder f/s f/t jimstoyz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 09-14-2005 03:19 PM
WTB: AMBrc Personal Transponder WeatherB R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 05-07-2005 10:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:18 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net