R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2005, 09:14 AM   #1
zax
Tech Regular
 
zax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SINGAPORE
Posts: 283
Default GLITCH..

Does AM transmitted and receiver make the servo glitch seriously? what can i do to make it not glitchly?
zax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 10:20 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

any radio can glitch.. you need to find out what caused it to do so..
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 02:48 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Bill Crawford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bethany Oklahoma
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Make sure your motor is clean and has caps this will help with glitching
Bill Crawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 09:44 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Hi,

Basically AM or ampilitude modulation is more prone to glithes than thier FM conterparts.Make sure all power wires,eg.any wires, is far away from your antenna wire,motor comm cut and new brushes and also importantly is the caps.And by the way,are you using metal gear servos too?During the servo turns,the movement of the metal gears moving together rubbing each other will create frequency niose also.

Hope this helps.
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:29 AM   #5
zax
Tech Regular
 
zax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SINGAPORE
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben.C
Hi,

Basically AM or ampilitude modulation is more prone to glithes than thier FM conterparts.Make sure all power wires,eg.any wires, is far away from your antenna wire,motor comm cut and new brushes and also importantly is the caps.And by the way,are you using metal gear servos too?During the servo turns,the movement of the metal gears moving together rubbing each other will create frequency niose also.

Hope this helps.
THANKS.. i am using plastic gear servo..i am using super stock rz motor with schottky diode and motor capacitor..i place the anntena and reciever far away from the wires and the esc, it oso causes glitches.
zax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 12:45 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Ok,how about your motor??Is it a new motor?? OR quite a used one? A worn out motor(ie,worn out comm and short can throw away brushes) can cause a lot of arching and produce a lot of frequency noise.

Or another problem could be that your crystal is damage.Go try to replace your crystal and see whether does it help.

If not I recommand that your change your radio using FM,and try using 40MHz.It'll solve your glitching problems.
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 01:20 AM   #7
zax
Tech Regular
 
zax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SINGAPORE
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben.C
Ok,how about your motor??Is it a new motor?? OR quite a used one? A worn out motor(ie,worn out comm and short can throw away brushes) can cause a lot of arching and produce a lot of frequency noise.

Or another problem could be that your crystal is damage.Go try to replace your crystal and see whether does it help.

If not I recommand that your change your radio using FM,and try using 40MHz.It'll solve your glitching problems.
i have been using this motor for 4 months for competition and practicing..i also cut the comm..the brush is not very short but it still can use it.. i not sure whether the crystal is damage.. changing my radio using FM cost huge amount money for me.. When i steering half on my left and right, the servo glitch like hell.. wat can i do to make my servo not glitchy by not buying a new FM radio..?
zax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 01:47 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

you can try borrowing someone else's crystals, see if the problem persists.

if your motor has proper capacitors installed, you can try those black radio noise reducing thingies which i don't know the name of.

Does your glitching happen even when your car is on a stand (not running on the track?)
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 01:53 AM   #9
zax
Tech Regular
 
zax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SINGAPORE
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnewb2004
you can try borrowing someone else's crystals, see if the problem persists.

if your motor has proper capacitors installed, you can try those black radio noise reducing thingies which i don't know the name of.

Does your glitching happen even when your car is on a stand (not running on the track?)
my servo glitch only..when i steeing my car half (1/2) left and right, the servo start to glitch..when i neutralise the steering..it won't glitch..it glitch when i steering (1/2) half..
zax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 05:12 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zax
my servo glitch only..when i steeing my car half (1/2) left and right, the servo start to glitch..when i neutralise the steering..it won't glitch..it glitch when i steering (1/2) half..
try replacing your steering servo with another servo and see what happens or disconnect both tie rods off and move the wheels side to side to see if there is any binding in your steering system. the servo may glitch because something is binding and the servo was not made to operate at such torque levels.

im only guessing here but i hope it helps
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 05:18 AM   #11
zax
Tech Regular
 
zax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SINGAPORE
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainTeased
try replacing your steering servo with another servo and see what happens or disconnect both tie rods off and move the wheels side to side to see if there is any binding in your steering system. the servo may glitch because something is binding and the servo was not made to operate at such torque levels.

im only guessing here but i hope it helps
SAME..I REPLACE TO ANOTHER SERVO..IT ALSO GLITCH..i check already.. there is no binding..i guess is the AM problem..
zax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 01:22 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Replace the crystals, borrow from someone else.

Have you tried doing this elsewhere? (like does this happen at home?) sometimes too many radios can cause weird problems.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 05:05 AM   #13
zax
Tech Regular
 
zax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SINGAPORE
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnewb2004
Replace the crystals, borrow from someone else.

Have you tried doing this elsewhere? (like does this happen at home?) sometimes too many radios can cause weird problems.
i have tried doing this at home and track...it also glitch..
zax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 09:26 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Get a new or 2nd hand FM radio!!!
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:26 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Use someone else's spektrum reciever and transmitter. that thing is nearly glitch proof. if it still glitches, keep the spektrum and throw your car away.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FX Pro Glitch racing_jason Electric On-Road 3 04-03-2009 05:16 PM
DX2.0 Glitch? monkeyracing Radio and Electronics 3 03-25-2008 11:51 AM
Glitch tkhoo Malaysian R/C Racers 6 08-21-2004 10:15 AM
MX-3 Glitch tridagger Electric On-Road 7 01-25-2004 06:55 PM
Esc Glitch???? Steevo Electric On-Road 16 05-07-2003 06:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:43 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net