R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   run in a used motor (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/83637-run-used-motor.html)

noobie 09-10-2005 12:16 PM

run in a used motor

hi i am new to electrics, i heard someone at the track talk about dipping the motor in water and running it...

well i have already ran my 540sport tuned motor in my car for about 1 hour.... is there any benifit if i do the dipping technique now?

i was told basically dipp the motor in water with 4.8v power for about 2-3minutes... anything else?

thanks for any advice

cheers

rcnewb2004 09-10-2005 01:20 PM

I am also a newb, unfamiliar w/ the dipping technique.

But I think if you do not know what you are doing, water is not the best thing for motors. I do not think anything anything will short circuit, but certainly, rusting maybe a factor.

I run in my motor at 2.4 volts for 3-5 minutes. Works well enough.

hpipro321 09-10-2005 02:09 PM

dipping in SALT water for 10 min on a 2.0 volt break in is for mabuchi motors ( tamiya stocks)

brooksy 09-11-2005 12:07 PM

I clean my motors after every meeting with water and a very,very small drop of washing up liquid for 2-3 minutes with short burst of throttle(pinion off).Once dry i re oil bearings and left ready for next meeting

burgboyz 09-11-2005 12:21 PM

water and motors?????

Forget the water and use a few bursts of motor spray after every run to stay fast and prolong the life of your brushes between comm cuts!! :nod: :nod:

trf racer 09-11-2005 12:29 PM

i use,a secret cobo of 5% tyre tweak 2000,45%water 20% alchol,10%washing liuid,20%super glue[has to be the medium version].
put your mototr in this secret blend at 9v for an hour then take it out,leave to cool,for 45mins,then put it on your dyno,watch those amps increase,lol.joke

burbs 09-11-2005 04:59 PM