R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-06-2014, 04:20 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Default Problem with Trackstar ESC

Hi All, Im having an issue with the trackstar 1 cell 120a running in a Mardave. Im using a KO Esprit 2 controller and KO Receiver. Since i tried the car on Thursday Night, (First time it has been used for 6 weeks) I was having issues with the car moving forward slowly when returning to neutral. I tried adjust the throttle trim to no avail. It was a random occurrence when it was happening. When I was racing it last night I had to re calibrate the ESC every time I turned it on. Also, when returning to neutral the back axel was locking causing my car to spin. This was a random occurrence to. Is it an ESC or Transmitter issue?
Cheers
brownerboy97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 04:24 AM   #2
Tech Apprentice
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Canberra Aus
Posts: 88
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

maybe even receiver?
rcnutbag00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 09:38 AM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Default

Could Be. It has been in several heavy shunts through out its use, I have tried a different pair of crystals and it was the same.
brownerboy97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 07:14 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 81
Default

Have you tried to re-calibrate the ESC?
__________________
Surface: F104 Pro Black Edition w/X1 parts, F104 w/upgrades, TB02, Exo Terra Buggy, Atomik V2MR, CR-01
Air: Tarrot 450 & Walkera Super CP
Futaba 4PLS and Flysky GT3C
Turnigy 9X
Measuredpath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 05:59 AM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Measuredpath View Post
Have you tried to re-calibrate the ESC?
I have to re calibrate the ESC everytime i turn the ESC on. Otherwise it just sits there beeping at me
brownerboy97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 08:43 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

ESC rated @ 2-6cell, not for 1 cell.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 11:21 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,093
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Even so those trackstar esc have that problem, it'll randomly lock up. They're cheap for a reason .
__________________
Soap



REFLEXRACING.NET * TEXASEOS.NET * YOKOMO
b20btec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 11:42 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,582
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I just installed a Trackstar GenII 1S 120A in my WGT to try it. So far, no problems. I did pick up the program box and the first thing it did when connected to the PC was update the ESC to 2.02. For blinky, you need to switch to profile 1, rename it to what ever you want so you remember it, set timing to 0*, set turbo to 0* and the white LED comes on to indicate no timing. Then change gearing and the timing on the motor to match the track for blinky. If you just calibrated out of the box and have the timing cranked up, the default "Modify" profile HAS TIMING. Turn your motor timing down to 10* or less until you can get to a PC with the program box. You're probably getting cogging from too much timing.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:38 AM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Default

I have the ESC set up as Blinky. The motor is A Speed Passion v2 13.5t. It is set up as sensored and The timing is at 10 degrees if i remember correctly
brownerboy97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 08:38 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

First thing first, Charge battery to full, All trims to 12o'clock, Calibrate TX to RX, Set ESC to 1cell by Memory Card or Blinky. Go from there. May start Cogging, Drop pinion as needed.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:41 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net