R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2014, 01:02 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default Do I need this?

I've ordered a standard setup station for my 1/10 TC.

Do I also need this?:

http://www.hudy.net/xhudy/products/p...5&kategoria=64
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 01:23 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
samnelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fitchburg, MA
Posts: 1,751
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Need? nah.
__________________
Team Associated | Reedy | Airtronics

RC Excitement: Fitchburg, MA | RC Madness: Enfield, CT | Horsham RC
samnelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 09:58 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Clawhammers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salkin View Post
I've ordered a standard setup station for my 1/10 TC.

Do I also need this?:

http://www.hudy.net/xhudy/products/p...5&kategoria=64

What standard setup station did you buy ?


I purchased Complete Set of Set-up Tools + Carrying Bag - For 1/10 Touring Cars several months ago, and it already contained the tweak setup.

http://www.hudy.net/xhudy/products/p...5&kategoria=64


Clawhammers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 10:38 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

I purchased this:

http://www.hudy.net/xhudy/products/p...1&kategoria=64

And the 1/10 tc setup board.

Was just wondering if anybody uses the tweak tool also?
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 05:03 AM   #5
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clawhammers View Post
I purchased Complete Set of Set-up Tools + Carrying Bag - For 1/10 Touring Cars several months ago, and it already contained the tweak setup.

http://www.hudy.net/xhudy/products/p...5&kategoria=64


Quote:
Originally Posted by Salkin View Post
I purchased this:

http://www.hudy.net/xhudy/products/p...1&kategoria=64

And the 1/10 tc setup board.

Was just wondering if anybody uses the tweak tool also?
That bubble level tweak station is usually used on pan cars. The one in that Complete kit above is for TCs.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 06:51 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,307
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The complete TC kit now comes with the bubbles style too, they changed it recently. They didn't drop the price though! Note the disclaimer down the bottom of that link.

The cars these days are so much better balanced with lipos than they were with NiMH batteries, so you find that tweak due to L/R balance is minimal. When I rebuild my car, I always check it, but with my current electronics and using std battery offset (Salkin, you can adjust it on the 418 by adding/subtracting spacers to the lipo stopper) it's always perfect.

So to answer, "need" - hmm, nah. Not really. You can achieve 90%+ what the tweak station does with the $10 balance pins.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 06:53 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,307
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

If you're going to spend more stuff on HUDY gear, get the thumb screws for the triangles and axels. They are a must.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 12:31 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 180
Default

Shame if you have already ordered it as there are so many other brands just as nice , as hudy just means extra

And no that only show tweek on the car and if you not going for 1st place in all the nationals it's point less and having spring collars adjusted badly on the car give u tweek readings and confuse you
As for weight use scales but only when you start needing to find .05 of a lap not when ur hunting seconds a lap

Just get a setup station and regualy de tweek the car on a flat surface and track it up
tcboy1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:37 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net