Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Setup Station, is it worth it? >

Setup Station, is it worth it?

Setup Station, is it worth it?

Old 08-31-2014, 10:52 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (36)
 
Photocycler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,161
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default Setup Station, is it worth it?

After a 3+ year break, Im back into the hobby again. This time I am really trying to concentrate on getting my cars setup and becoming a better driver.

I am running 3 classes, 1/10 TC 17.5, F1, 1/8 GT 8 Nitro.

I am wondering if it makes sense for me to buy a hudy setup station. Since my cars are getting banged and I am trying to concentrate on my driving more, thinking having the ability to set the car up more precisely can help my driving.

The alternative would be getting a good camber gauge and setup wheels, but thinking having a toe adjustment may be key.
Photocycler is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:05 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,047
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Absolutely. I'm not one to buy what I don't need or waste money on the latest and greatest. An accurate half degree of camber makes a huge difference. I use the hudy aluminum one and Brian Shook uses the integy. Both are equally accurate. It tends to be a little quicker with the station. Hth.--Al
big al is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:08 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Of course !!

Buy Hudy 1/10 professional setup for 1/10 touring car.

Buy any top brand camber measurement tools for 1/8 GT,

Perhaps you also need Hudy block for measuring downstop for 1/8 cars, and 2 pieces of Hudy 20mm block holder for 1/8 cars.
asw7576 is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:24 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Evo 13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 837
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Photocycler View Post
After a 3+ year break, Im back into the hobby again. This time I am really trying to concentrate on getting my cars setup and becoming a better driver.

I am running 3 classes, 1/10 TC 17.5, F1, 1/8 GT 8 Nitro.

I am wondering if it makes sense for me to buy a hudy setup station. Since my cars are getting banged and I am trying to concentrate on my driving more, thinking having the ability to set the car up more precisely can help my driving.

The alternative would be getting a good camber gauge and setup wheels, but thinking having a toe adjustment may be key.
If your serious about the hobby and plan to stick with it, then make the investment. If your just casual, don't waste your money, unless you have it to waste.
Evo 13 is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 01:00 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
dan_vector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,307
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Definitely worth it and in my opinion either the HUDY or ARROWMAX are probably the best kits out there.
dan_vector is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 02:37 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

I asked the same question a little while ago

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...ly-needed.html
Salkin is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 02:46 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,223
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

The Hudy is overpriced unless you get one used, most the brands will be accurate enough to be repeatable, hence your adjusting to whatever station your using on a regular basis, I have the Xceed, and I like the ability to alter the ride height inserts to suit when needed, and it's a fair bit cheaper than the Hudy, in fact I know guys using the cheapest ones from HobbyKing etc that still work just fine.

And yes, one of the most worth while tools in your kit if you race often.
Bishop is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 08:35 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (63)
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 3,350
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

hey are very worth it. If your looking for an inexpensive quality system, Im getting rid of my extra one..



http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...l#post13505843
theproffesor is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 09:15 AM
  #9  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 179
Default

Originally Posted by asw7576 View Post
Of course !!

Buy Hudy 1/10 professional setup for 1/10 touring car.

Buy any top brand camber measurement tools for 1/8 GT,

Perhaps you also need Hudy block for measuring downstop for 1/8 cars, and 2 pieces of Hudy 20mm block holder for 1/8 cars.
I agree, the Hudy 1/10 is the best setup system out there.
Thaan is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 09:22 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (36)
 
Photocycler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,161
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

2 questions:

1) Is the tweak tools also a necessity, of course nice to have but wondering

2) Am I able to use the TC version with my Tamiya F1 (basically pan car)
Photocycler is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 09:32 AM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
roger999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 844
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Photocycler View Post
2 questions:

1) Is the tweak tools also a necessity, of course nice to have but wondering

2) Am I able to use the TC version with my Tamiya F1 (basically pan car)
1) no, its not
2) yes, but ull be able to set only camber not toe in/out
roger999 is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 08:53 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by roger999 View Post
1) no, its not
2) yes, but ull be able to set only camber not toe in/out
I always used mine to set toe...
Odin544 is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 09:23 PM
  #13  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (52)
 
Pauly6401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Yes, I don't know why you wouldn't be able to set toe with it, either. Should work fine.
Pauly6401 is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 09:26 AM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
roger999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 844
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

yeah my mistake, of course you can just u need to use wheel bearings with no bearings f1 is not wide enough
roger999 is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 02:23 AM
  #15  
Tech Adept
 
RaceDayHobbies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 194
Default

I believe they are worth every penny. I put my cars (off-road and on-road) on a Hudy set-up station after every time they come off the track. I would say 95% of the time I have to adjust something due to it being out of spec. If you really want to work on your driving, you need the car to be exactly the same every time you put it on the track. That way you know if you are improving or not. If the car is set up different every time you hit the track, you are just chasing your tail or fighting a poor set up. You won't know if it is a set up issue or bad driving.
RaceDayHobbies is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.