R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-06-2005, 10:16 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default Anyone know CAD/CAM and CNC?

hey anyone ever want to make parts and have them cut out well I did, so I bought a CNC Mill about 6 months ago and still have yet to figure out how to draw in CAD, I just dont get it! anyways I have the machine if you have the talent and patience for CAD what can we make?
joe@brokengears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 10:40 PM   #2
Tech Adept

I write CNC programs for an aerospace company here in the DFW area. Cad design can be relatively easy to learn depending on the program being used. Some are easier to learn than others. CNC programming on the other hand gets down to spending lots of time and trial and error to master as there are so many variables involved. You need to have some good math skills in geometry and trigonometry. I have been doing it for about 25 years and I do it every day for 8-10 hours and I still learn something new every day. I design my own fixtures and tools along with developing the process by which the parts are made. I even do some training on the side from time to time in the particular software that I use. I have been building RC parts for the last 2-3 years. Lots of racers around the country and even a few in other countries have been using my tools and parts. You can check them out at http://www.teamtamale.com I don't know where you are located or what software you are trying to use or the what machine you purchased. Might be able to give a few pointers.
teamtamale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 11:03 PM   #3
Tech Initiate

Default cool

Thats cool
I am using BobCAD v20
I live in hawaii
I Bought a SpectraLight mill
and I have a plastic vacuum molding machine

so whats the best way to kearn to use it all?

Joe
Old 09-07-2005, 12:36 AM   #4
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Talking Programming software!!!!

Quote: