R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Help! Tamiya TT02 or TT02D? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/833538-help-tamiya-tt02-tt02d.html)

YingKai 08-30-2014 09:25 AM

Help! Tamiya TT02 or TT02D?

First of all,I'm really new to RC and would like to start this as my hobby but I'm really confused by so many brands and models.

I'm thinking of playing RC mainly for drift racing,somebody recommended me the tamiya TT02 for a beginner.

But I later found out that there's a TT02 and TT02D with drift specs.

What's the difference? Is TT02D really better?

If I wanna play RC mainly for drifting,which one should I go for?

Btw I read in other websites saying that the only difference was the oil shocks,ball bearings, drift tyres and sports tuned motor. Which people told me I can go ahead with the TT02 and upgrade them to even better ones than the TT02D stock,it will drift and perform even better. Is that true?

YingKai 08-30-2014 12:31 PM

Someone please help...

Qatmix 08-30-2014 12:46 PM

They are exactly the same as each other, the only difference are the bits you get in the kit.

The std kits have a shell, ESC and motor.

TT02D has no shell or esc but has bearings and oil shocks.
Here is a build and review
http://www.thercracer.com/2013/05/ta...nd-review.html
Here is a guide to tuning the TT02

http://www.thercracer.com/2014/08/ta...-and-tips.html

YingKai 08-30-2014 01:02 PM

Originally Posted by Qatmix (Post 13502384)
They are exactly the same as each other, the only difference are the bits you get in the kit.

The std kits have a shell, ESC and motor.

TT02D has no shell or esc but has bearings and oil shocks.

Hence your advice is to go for TT02 would be better in terms of pricing wise? Since both is the same just that the little bits of parts that actually could be upgraded in the future if I go for TT02 right?

Qatmix 08-30-2014 01:32 PM