R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2014, 10:07 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
MartyD.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dalton Ga
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Xray FK05 USGT lipo set up help

Hello,

Let start out by saying I am new to onroad, I picked up a couple of older cars for VTA and USGT. Want to run the FK05 in USGT and want to know what would be the best method with securing the Lipo battery. I have seen a few Lipo Battery arms for T3s and T4s. Im wondering if any one knows if this will work on the FK05 chassis. Any help with this would be appreciated.
MartyD. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 10:10 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
mkiiina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 2,338
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

There is a lipo "conversion" from xray. I'll see if I can find the part number as I have one on my T1 as well. You need to be careful about the battery height as the front belt will rub if its too tall.
mkiiina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 10:51 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
MartyD.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dalton Ga
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thank you, I have been searching online for info on running a lipo on this chassis, not much out there. Seems like its a real pain to run one without issues. Would I be better off getting a lipo ready chassis to race? This is a beautiful car, with a ton of new and used parts.... Would really like to use it with out hacking it up.
MartyD. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 11:46 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
alcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: kuala lumpur,malaysia
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Some lipos are lower than others. A standard lipo is 25mm high. Orca now has a low cost 6000mah lipo that is 23mm high and only weighs 270g compared to other 6000mah usually 300g.
__________________
http://kawada-alcyon.blogspot.com/
http://superturbooptimamidspecialzx-5.blogspot.com/
kawada sv10 alcyon 3-sanwa mx3x-orca vx v4.1 software-team powers 13.5 motor-turnigy 4200 shorty lipo-savox 1251 servo RIDE RE32
alcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 01:46 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Brokin Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,281
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartyD. View Post
Hello,

Let start out by saying I am new to onroad, I picked up a couple of older cars for VTA and USGT. Want to run the FK05 in USGT and want to know what would be the best method with securing the Lipo battery. I have seen a few Lipo Battery arms for T3s and T4s. Im wondering if any one knows if this will work on the FK05 chassis. Any help with this would be appreciated.
To my knowledge there wasn't an option part from Xray to fit lipo's to the FK05

If you can secure a "Bitty" lipo tray, common some years ago, that would be your easiest & most effective option (re chassis balance) or make up a couple of light alloy brackets yourself... & no the T3 T4 items will not fit

You could also get BezerkRC.com to make you a new "lipo suitable" lower deck
__________________
Xray - LRP - PF - Futaba -
"Retired from Racing"

Last edited by Brokin Racing; 08-23-2014 at 06:35 PM. Reason: correction
Brokin Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 05:07 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
mkiiina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 2,338
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Here is the part I have:

http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/pro...ing%20Brackets

I think stormer had the first one and then I got a second one from a shop in canada. I did space them up some.

HTH.
mkiiina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 05:32 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
MartyD.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dalton Ga
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkiiina View Post
Here is the part I have:

http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/pro...ing%20Brackets

I think stormer had the first one and then I got a second one from a shop in canada. I did space them up some.

HTH.
Thanks for the help, this car I equipped with the graphite battery strap. Ive wondered if I use Velcro on the chassis and battery, spaced it away from the belt if that would eliminate side to side movement. My concern is making the COG high?
MartyD. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net