R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2014, 12:52 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default Setup station, really needed?

Me and my son just started in onroad TC coming from 1/8 e buggy.

In buggy, I had a camber and ride height tool and that was it.

My question, what can a setup station provide me in terms of setup, that a 1/10 onroad set of droop, ride height and camber gauge tools cannot.

Is it really the measure of toe in/out, that is difficult to measure without the setup station? Or can that be measures in other ways?

My gut feeling tells me that a setup station is needed in the tenth of a millimeter world of onroad TC.

But is this so?
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 01:02 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 861
Default

Nope, not needed. Get yourself some droop blocks and you're done.

Front toe is easiest measured with a steel rule. Just measure the distance between the rear edges of the two wheels, then the front edges, and the difference is your toe in millimetres.
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 01:14 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,103
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Yes a ruler can be used but c'mon, you invest xxxx.xx dollars towards a car and radio. A set up station can be had for 150.00 US for a nice set of Hudy and will give excellent resolution to achieve the perfect setup. There are other brands that are a bit cheaper but still get the job done. Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Minh Nguyen
[Maclan Racing] [Xpert Servos]
trigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 01:52 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Yes.... you need setup station especially when measuring front toe out , rear toe in and downstop values.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 02:52 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

Thank for your replies.

Guess I will have to buy one.

daleburr: thanks for the tip on the toe measurement, will use that for now
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 04:46 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,307
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

You don't have to buy one at all.

They do however make things much easier and once you're used to using it, faster.

Droop blocks are a must though, that's for sure.
cplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 05:54 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Salkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 882
Default

Just one question about measuring droop.

If you look at the setup sheet for my car you can see that droop is measured as how much the arms are raised relative to the bottom of the car:

http://www.tamiyausa.com/pdf/setup/42270su.pdf

I have a ride height gauge that goes from 0mm to 15mm.

Can't I not just place the car flat on the chassis on an even surface and use my ride height gauge to measure the droop, as shown in the linked setup sheet?
__________________
Yokomo BD7 2016 Black Series - MuchMore Fleta Pro / MuchMore ZX - Highest DLP650 - Sanwa M12
Salkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 01:58 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
dan_vector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3,928
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salkin View Post
Just one question about measuring droop.

If you look at the setup sheet for my car you can see that droop is measured as how much the arms are raised relative to the bottom of the car:

http://www.tamiyausa.com/pdf/setup/42270su.pdf

I have a ride height gauge that goes from 0mm to 15mm.

Can't I not just place the car flat on the chassis on an even surface and use my ride height gauge to measure the droop, as shown in the linked setup sheet?
No not really. You need to use droop blocks and a proper droop gauge. It's probably one of the most vital measurements to get perfect. The droop blocks set the chassis 10mm off the ground and then the droop gauge provides the measurement referenced to group taking into account the 10mm.

And FWIW you absolutely need a setup station in 1/10 TC. You just can't accurately setup the car without one. It's best guess without I'm afraid. It's a small investment too in the grand scheme of things. Go for Hudy or Arrowmax.

I tried for a few years without a station but once I got one it made setup easier and I could really feel the difference on track.
__________________
Serpent Viper 977e EVO2, Serpent Viper 988 GP, Serpent Project 4x, Serpent 811T-TE Truggy, Serpent 811e 2.1, Serpent SRX2-MH, Serpent SRX-2 RM, Serpent SRX-4, Serpent F110-SF2, Serpent F180, Serpent 748 Natrix WC, Serpent Cobra GT 3.1, Serpent SRX8, Serpent S811 2.2, Baja 5B Flux, Atomic AMZ 1/27th, Schumacher GT12 SS.
Sanwa, Ielasi Tuned Novarossi Racing Engines, Tekin, Hobbywing, Muchmore.
dan_vector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 02:03 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

Just borrow one for the once a day at most you might need it. Spend the money on better actual stuff. Setup tools should always be secondary purchase. Just make friend with someone who has one.
__________________
My stuff
| Team Associated - Reedy - Reflex Racing/RSD - ProAMPS RC |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/ - www.teamassociated.com
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 02:13 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 345
Default

I have seen racers "eyeball" their settings and think they were pretty close...... until they put the car on the guages. Don't leave home without it.
HawaiiBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 02:28 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,092
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

It's a must, yes I'm sure you can use a scale and other contraption to get it close. I can't see myself not ever owning one, to me its part of racing onroad and it's essential as anything else.
b20btec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 03:23 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
OttoKrosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mesa, AZ, USA
Posts: 410
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Not only do you need one but you'll need to use it track-side between heats if there is a lot of bumping and banging. It's not uncommon to knock adjustment out of whack. I find that the car can need fine adjustments between heats even without major contact with others.

To ensure a consistent, predictable, feel every time out set the car up on a set-up station. You'll eventually find the proper camber and toe settings that best fit your driving style and local track conditions.
__________________
This space for rent.

Oo=00=oO
OttoKrosse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 03:26 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Lot of pro racers use a stainless steel ruler and ride height gauge. Setup station is not essential but it can be easier remember that they are only as good as the user.

Ps measure droop to the pin no need for droop blocks and more accurate.
frozenpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:35 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net