Community
Wiki Posts
Search

best setup $ can buy

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2014, 03:05 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Running cars now and absolutely loving it …... I think I particularly enjoy the competitive side / pushing yourself to become better and being able to race against others and the clock.
+1

----
I have been racing cars on and off competitively since about 1984 (Tamiya Hornet ...No Guts No Glory)! I've tried planes, -expensive when you crash!!! Cars are my fav' for the reasons you already outlined.

My 2 pieces of advice, which have been echoed here already:
1) Get a car that has won a recent championship
2) Use a set up for that exact car from either or both the manufacturers site and/or the person who has won w/ that setup. But keep in mind what surface they used to win (as you don't want to set your car up for carpet if the setup is for asphalt).

Those are two places to start.
After that you'll find you'll want to tweak your car to your own liking/driving style.

Once your relatively dialed in, its a matter of skill. PRACTICE!

Old 08-11-2014, 03:52 PM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by sosidge
I echo the concerns about not building your own car - it is a core part of getting to know the car, and not every "expert" builder is quite as good as they think (having seen plenty of examples of "team driver" cars that have been bought second hand and have major build errors...)

As far as equipment goes, 99% of the top end equipment is very good, you've mentioned the car and powertrain but don't rule out the quality of the radio and servo, a well set up radio is just as important as a well set up car.

I also note you have decided to go for the "spend money first, set it up second, learn to drive it third". This is the mistake most new drivers make, assuming that the car wins races.

Actually drivers win races.