R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 07-31-2014, 06:14 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default Getting the most out of my Yokomo bd7 Black Edition

Hi Everyone.

I am new to the hobby and have just purchased my first car, A Yokomo BD7 Black Edition.
I had my first race meet last weekend and didn't do to bad.
My question is... How do I get the most out of my car ? I am in the 21.5T Blinky class.
The track we run on recommends an FDR of 2.9 to 3.2 .
I am running a LRP K7 Vector Brushless..... Hobby Wing ESC.... Savox 1251 Servo... Turnigy Nanotech 5.6 Batteries... My Pinion is a 45 and my Spur is a 68 which from what I've been told gives me a FDR of 3.02.
I know this is within the clubs FDR rules for this class but I am getting swallowed up along the straights of all places...
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks and happy Racing.
KHANAGE666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 07:38 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Nice. Way overkill for 21.5 though.

Not all 21.5 motors are equal.

You need to find your motor's point of best efficiency (by that I don't mean electrical efficiency, but the best point for your track - you might want your motor for maximum power if you have long straights and few sweeping corners, or torque if you have many corners and short straights) and keep the gearing there.

Some timing adjustment might be needed on the motor as well.

Best get someone at the track to help you, we're shooting in the dark here.

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 08:45 AM   #3
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I don't see any timing adjustment on those motors, from looking at some pictures of them. Might be stuck with fixed timing on that one. That is definitely not ideal for any stock class where the other racers have adjustable timing on their motors.