R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2005, 01:49 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada...A
Posts: 23
Default How to make fans on a switch...

Hello all, i would like to know how to make the cooling fans in my car be on a switch.Can anybody show/tell me how...Thanks
XrayFK05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 01:54 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Get a switch from radio shack. Or best would be out of a radio kit that has the switch for nitro cars. Solder that from the pos and neg batter wires to the fans.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 02:00 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada...A
Posts: 23
Default

anybody have pics of how to do this??
XrayFK05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 02:12 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadCapece
Get a switch from radio shack. Or best would be out of a radio kit that has the switch for nitro cars. Solder that from the pos and neg batter wires to the fans.
wouldnt that just short the batts out when you had the switch closed...and allow the fans to work when it was open?

easiest way would be to put it in the pos OR neg wire to the fan...ie so when it is open it breaks the circuit stopping the fans...when its closed it lets the fans run as it completes the circuit
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 02:14 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Ducati-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 458
Default plug into receiver

I just plug mine into an open servo port on the receiver and it comes on when I turn on the receiver.
Ducati-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 02:18 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada...A
Posts: 23
Default

oh, ok i get it now.... Thanks
XrayFK05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 02:51 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducati-Rider
I just plug mine into an open servo port on the receiver and it comes on when I turn on the receiver.
yeah but putting the fans onto a switch...direct to the battery wires..

you can switch off the esc but still have the fans running so your motor cools down while your marshalling
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 07:28 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XrayFK05
Hello all, i would like to know how to make the cooling fans in my car be on a switch.Can anybody show/tell me how...Thanks
I used an old speed control on / off switch. There are 2 wires from the fan and I ran them to the + and - on the speed control. I cut one of those wires and soildered the old switch so it either conects or breaks the current to the fan. Can leave it on after running, or turn if off anytime a battery is connected.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 07:39 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raving-monkey
wouldnt that just short the batts out when you had the switch closed...and allow the fans to work when it was open?

easiest way would be to put it in the pos OR neg wire to the fan...ie so when it is open it breaks the circuit stopping the fans...when its closed it lets the fans run as it completes the circuit
No, it doesn't pull power (short) from the batteries b/c the circuit is broken. The switch lets you run your fan in the pits. Or before the race.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 08:21 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
xDeeDubYax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: V.23666.A
Posts: 138
Default

Just use the third channel of your receiver, and turn it off and on from your transmitter. Most three channel radios have a dial to adjust the third channel. The great thing about this? It is only on when you turn the dial. If you have a minute call at the start of the race, your car isnt on the line with the fan(s) running and taking the peak off of your cells.

- DaveW
xDeeDubYax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 12:06 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadCapece
No, it doesn't pull power (short) from the batteries b/c the circuit is broken. The switch lets you run your fan in the pits. Or before the race.
yeah but as soon as you close the switch it willshort out the batteries becauseyou are basically putting a jumper wire accross them.
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 12:10 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

i got a motor fan today, its specs are

uses 12v/0.15amp and its 5cm by 5cm and 1cm thick,

i was wondering would this be a good fan for rc car motors, also how much power would it drain.
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 12:49 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
loopedeloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whangarei Newzealand
Posts: 490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kid TT-01
i got a motor fan today, its specs are

uses 12v/0.15amp and its 5cm by 5cm and 1cm thick,

i was wondering would this be a good fan for rc car motors, also how much power would it drain.
[email protected]=1.8Watts........ is the power drain

Or in laymans terms it will take 10hrs to drain a 1500 battery.
loopedeloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 12:56 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

so it woudnt make much difference to the power of a 3300 if i was to use it in 540 races
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 01:06 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
loopedeloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whangarei Newzealand
Posts: 490
Default

nah mate.
.

It certainly cant do any harm and you wont notice the difference at all I wouldnt think.


It will however allow you to run a slightly higher gearing before cooking your motor.

And might help in that aussie heat too
loopedeloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to make 3 prong deans to easily switch Brushless to brush? Valentin.H Electric On-Road 20 03-04-2007 09:44 PM
MUCH MORE fans surrealmaterial Electric On-Road 10 02-12-2007 11:18 PM
FANS???????? serpentrush Electric On-Road 8 01-11-2006 08:15 PM
#88 Fans This is a Must Have K1WEY R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 12-12-2003 10:44 AM
HPI fans hyperformance R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 03-03-2002 05:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:53 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net