Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Advance R/C Car R10 2015 >

Advance R/C Car R10 2015

Advance R/C Car R10 2015

Old 06-13-2015, 03:11 PM
  #916  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Phil2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 289
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OVA View Post
Hi
I am just getting ready to build my 17.5 stock R10 2015 ATS..
question : it is better to have the ATS for asphalt or not?
Our Track is med size with medium traction grip
Since your running stock... you'll want the car light. I shaved about 23 grams removing the ATS...Not necessary. Also, check the top deck screw holes. Make sure the screws hole are big enough for the screws to just fall out. I was having a bit of tweak issue when I tightened everything down before i did that. Making the holes just a hair bigger fixed the issue.
Shocks... if you have a drill bit small enough, drill the shock caps. The ARC long spring, Green Front/Blue rear works well for asphalt... Green rear works ok. Like the blue in the back better though.
I'm running a front low friction diff and rear low friction. Front has 1 million and rear is 1,000. Running the diff in the front made the car easier to drive. It works well for me at my track (DRCW).
If you wanna shave a little more weight you can remove the 1mm shim plates on the whole car and just use 1mm spacer shims. You want to be as close to 1380 grams as possible.
Phil2112 is offline  
Old 06-13-2015, 09:10 PM
  #917  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,783
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Phil2112 View Post
Since your running stock... you'll want the car light. I shaved about 23 grams removing the ATS...Not necessary. Also, check the top deck screw holes. Make sure the screws hole are big enough for the screws to just fall out. I was having a bit of tweak issue when I tightened everything down before i did that. Making the holes just a hair bigger fixed the issue.
Shocks... if you have a drill bit small enough, drill the shock caps. The ARC long spring, Green Front/Blue rear works well for asphalt... Green rear works ok. Like the blue in the back better though.
I'm running a front low friction diff and rear low friction. Front has 1 million and rear is 1,000. Running the diff in the front made the car easier to drive. It works well for me at my track (DRCW).
If you wanna shave a little more weight you can remove the 1mm shim plates on the whole car and just use 1mm spacer shims. You want to be as close to 1380 grams as possible.
Thank you for your input
OVA is offline  
Old 06-15-2015, 03:34 PM
  #918  
TLRacing
iTrader: (25)
 
Frank Root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Corona, CA, USA
Posts: 5,792
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

...

Last edited by Frank Root; 06-15-2015 at 03:51 PM. Reason: Double Post
Frank Root is offline  
Old 06-15-2015, 03:51 PM
  #919  
TLRacing
iTrader: (25)
 
Frank Root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Corona, CA, USA
Posts: 5,792
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default R10 2015 - Outdoor Asphalt

Here is the setup I've been promising. I ran this setup at Reedy, just with 5k in the rear for the higher grip and higher speed track. My car was EXCELLENT on Sunday at Camarillo with this exact setup. I was able to TQ and win, running 31 laps each round, the only one to do so all day, and also had FL by 0.5... can was AWESOME. I don't claim to be an on-road setup master, but my car has had speed and is easy to drive. Not a bad place to start and worth a try I believe.
Attached Thumbnails Advance R/C Car R10 2015-r10-2015-setup-2015.06.15-frank-root-camarillo-club-race.jpg  

Last edited by Frank Root; 06-17-2015 at 10:40 AM. Reason: Fixed Error on Setup Sheet
Frank Root is offline  
Old 06-19-2015, 10:14 AM
  #920  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Venice Beach
Posts: 353
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for posting your setup Frank. Your car looked great. Quick question about the brackets.

Standard Setup is:
#2 FF
#1 FR
Track Width 186mm
Front Low Suspension arm Toe Out 1

So seems #2.5 is toe out 1.5, track width +.4mm correct?

Not sure what this would be:
#1 RF
#3.5 RR

Rear Toe In +2.5 ?
Rear Track Width +0.75mm or +1.5mm ?

Thanks for the clarification!
LAGuy is offline  
Old 06-19-2015, 10:34 AM
  #921  
TLRacing
iTrader: (25)
 
Frank Root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Corona, CA, USA
Posts: 5,792
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LAGuy View Post
Thanks for posting your setup Frank. Your car looked great. Quick question about the brackets.

Standard Setup is:
#2 FF
#1 FR
Track Width 186mm
Front Low Suspension arm Toe Out 1

So seems #2.5 is toe out 1.5, track width +.4mm correct?

Not sure what this would be:
#1 RF
#3.5 RR

Rear Toe In +2.5 ?
Rear Track Width +0.75mm or +1.5mm ?

Thanks for the clarification!
I am running:
#2.5 FF
#2.0 FR
So 0.5* of arm sweep, and a .8mm wider track width.

#1 RF
#3.5 RR
Rear Toe, +2.5*, and +1.5mm track width.

Per what I can read from the charts.
Frank Root is offline  
Old 06-28-2015, 05:02 PM
  #922  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (31)
 
bornox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 654
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

do you guys put a hole also on the shock cap when u run on carpet?
bornox is offline  
Old 06-28-2015, 09:59 PM
  #923  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,634
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bornox View Post
do you guys put a hole also on the shock cap when u run on carpet?
I'd say a decent amount do yes.
Kody is offline  
Old 06-30-2015, 06:06 AM
  #924  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
JCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dayton,OH
Posts: 1,380
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I started the build on my R10 last night. I dunno if it's just the US kits, but it looks like they have made some changes based on what I have read in here. I got to thinking about it, this is my very first brand new TC build. I built the diff and sanded the backs of internal gears til they were even. The cross pin had no flashing on it so I left it as is, but I did sand the cams. All four cams seemed too high on the outer edges so, I sanded them till they were flat. So far I am really liking this kit and cant wait to get it done and on the track. Thanks for all the help and tips on here and on facebook.

Last edited by JCarr; 07-01-2015 at 05:59 AM.
JCarr is offline  
Old 07-01-2015, 11:51 PM
  #925  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Venice Beach
Posts: 353
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kody View Post
I'd say a decent amount do yes.
What size hole is common? I only have 1 set and would like to be careful. Without a hole , the shock rebound is pretty n/a. Would a non pro racer noticed the change?
LAGuy is offline  
Old 07-02-2015, 01:32 AM
  #926  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 437
Default

1mm hole is common, that will give you a "dead" shock, there will be no rebound.
If you don't like it you can block a 1mm hole up with superglue.
cyclonetog is offline  
Old 07-02-2015, 10:13 AM
  #927  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,634
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Want to say I use my 1.25 piston drill bit. Around 1mm-1.5mm will be ok.
Kody is offline  
Old 07-02-2015, 07:02 PM
  #928  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
JCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dayton,OH
Posts: 1,380
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Tonight I started putting the suspension on my chassis. When I first put the bridge on the front and rear of the car everything was nice and free. But, when I tightened everything down the arms no longer moved free at either end of the car. Should I run a reamer through the arms or am I missing something else?
JCarr is offline  
Old 07-02-2015, 07:14 PM
  #929  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,783
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JCarr View Post
Tonight I started putting the suspension on my chassis. When I first put the bridge on the front and rear of the car everything was nice and free. But, when I tightened everything down the arms no longer moved free at either end of the car. Should I run a reamer through the arms or am I missing something else?
Kody will be there to help you
OVA is offline  
Old 07-02-2015, 07:21 PM
  #930  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,138
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

By bridge you mean the arm mount blocks? If so, I would try taking one of the 1mm shims out and replace it with a .5 and a .3mm shim to give it a little bit of play. Or you can go the sanding route and sand the end of the arm down a tad, might be some leftover moulding seam there.
Carnage9270 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.