Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Is iCharger really superior? >

Is iCharger really superior?

Is iCharger really superior?

Old 08-07-2014, 08:12 PM
  #106  
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 935
Default

Thanks, CarbonJoe, just got the Tuning Haus cord and was wondering why there was two 2mm plugs. Although I wish they had the female plug soldered the other way around, just might do that.
vabroom is offline  
Old 08-07-2014, 08:59 PM
  #107  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,839
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
When charging a 2s, the red balancing lead gets plugged into the 2mm tube on the red bullet plug, and the blue 2mm balancing wire plugs into the balancing port on the battery.

For a 1s pack, the blue balancing wire goes in the 2mm tube on the red bullet plug, and the red wire just hangs free.
again, thanks
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 08-07-2014, 09:23 PM
  #108  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Venice Beach
Posts: 351
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

FYI, I temped my 600mm/12 gauge charge leads last weekend. After a discharge down to 3.4v/cell followed by a 40amp charge for approximately 15 minutes, the Novak wire hit 115 degrees.
LAGuy is offline  
Old 08-07-2014, 11:03 PM
  #109  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Jsaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 517
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

How do the ichargers discharge? Do they just use their internal components or do you have to hook a battery for higher discharge rates?
Thanks and God Bless
Jsaves is offline  
Old 08-08-2014, 06:58 AM
  #110  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,839
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Can someone give me a breakdown of what to do and charge at? Only going to be for 2s right now. I want to charge at 40a. I also need to know what to safely set it up at to discharge at and per cell. Can I discharge up to 40 amps? This is for a 406 Duo.
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 08-08-2014, 07:11 AM
  #111  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,495
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Can someone give me a breakdown of what to do and charge at? Only going to be for 2s right now. I want to charge at 40a. I also need to know what to safely set it up at to discharge at and per cell. Can I discharge up to 40 amps? This is for a 406 Duo.
Set the cell count to Auto, Cut off voltage to 4.2 per cell (This is factory preset), 40 amp charge rate and thats it. ONLY Charge at high rates using the balance leads. NEVER charge at a high rate without using it set to balance. Your asking for trouble this way.

See my other answer below for discharge info.

Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
How do the ichargers discharge? Do they just use their internal components or do you have to hook a battery for higher discharge rates?
Thanks and God Bless
J,

They use internal components or can use a battery. In order to achieve the maximum discharge rate you must hook up an external battery (Discharged one) to the other set of leads and do a regen discharge. It is simple and works awesome! The normal discharge is limited to about 20 amps on a 2S and 30 amps on a 1S battery.
EAMotorsports is offline  
Old 08-08-2014, 08:07 AM
  #112  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Mr RCTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,297
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Can someone give me a breakdown of what to do and charge at? Only going to be for 2s right now. I want to charge at 40a. I also need to know what to safely set it up at to discharge at and per cell. Can I discharge up to 40 amps? This is for a 406 Duo.
You can charge at 40 amps.

But, why charge at 40 amps?
Puts too much heat into the cells to fast and makes the lipos swell.

If you go to the ICharger site they recommend no more than 30 amp charge.

As future lipos get better then you will be able to charge higher safely.
Mr RCTech is offline  
Old 08-08-2014, 09:02 AM
  #113  
Suspended
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
How do the ichargers discharge? Do they just use their internal components or do you have to hook a battery for higher discharge rates?
Thanks and God Bless
This is a good way to do it

This guy on facebook is selling these discharger resister banks made to plug into an Icharger and will discharge at 40 + amps https://www.facebook.com/raymond.mccoy.79?fref=ts

PFKAOG is offline  
Old 08-08-2014, 05:26 PM
  #114  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,839
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Set the cell count to Auto, Cut off voltage to 4.2 per cell (This is factory preset), 40 amp charge rate and thats it. ONLY Charge at high rates using the balance leads. NEVER charge at a high rate without using it set to balance. Your asking for trouble this way.

See my other answer below for discharge info.



J,

They use internal components or can use a battery. In order to achieve the maximum discharge rate you must hook up an external battery (Discharged one) to the other set of leads and do a regen discharge. It is simple and works awesome! The normal discharge is limited to about 20 amps on a 2S and 30 amps on a 1S battery.
Thanks EA

Originally Posted by Mr RCTech View Post
You can charge at 40 amps.

But, why charge at 40 amps?
Puts too much heat into the cells to fast and makes the lipos swell.

If you go to the ICharger site they recommend no more than 30 amp charge.

As future lipos get better then you will be able to charge higher safely.
What battery's have you tried???

Originally Posted by PFKAOG View Post
This is a good way to do it

This guy on facebook is selling these discharger resister banks made to plug into an Icharger and will discharge at 40 + amps https://www.facebook.com/raymond.mccoy.79?fref=ts

Interesting!
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 08-08-2014, 06:37 PM
  #115  
avs
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PFKAOG View Post
This is a good way to do it

This guy on facebook is selling these discharger resister banks made to plug into an Icharger and will discharge at 40 + amps https://www.facebook.com/raymond.mccoy.79?fref=ts

hmm, that looks like it might be a good load for a slave motor in a dyno setup. anyone try that? seems like if it can pull down a high load on the battery then it could just as well absorb the output of a motor/generator combo?
avs is offline  
Old 08-09-2014, 02:55 AM
  #116  
Tech Master
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,001
Default

Originally Posted by avs View Post
hmm, that looks like it might be a good load for a slave motor in a dyno setup. anyone try that? seems like if it can pull down a high load on the battery then it could just as well absorb the output of a motor/generator combo?
Yes that works:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/11546052-post329.html

Good for testing cooling and making sure a motor hasn't gone off. Doesn't really tell the full story though, which is why I also created a flywheel dyno:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/11929704-post331.html
daleburr is offline  
Old 08-09-2014, 10:23 AM
  #117  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 1,022
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
They use internal components or can use a battery. In order to achieve the maximum discharge rate you must hook up an external battery (Discharged one) to the other set of leads and do a regen discharge. It is simple and works awesome! The normal discharge is limited to about 20 amps on a 2S and 30 amps on a 1S battery.
I'm confused. Do you happen to have a pic of this? Or perhaps just a simple diagram? Thanks
bukil is offline  
Old 08-09-2014, 03:11 PM
  #118  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,839
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bukil View Post
I'm confused. Do you happen to have a pic of this? Or perhaps just a simple diagram? Thanks
+1
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 08-10-2014, 06:32 AM
  #119  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
speeddaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Delton,Mi.
Posts: 217
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Here is a YouTube Video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L6Q_Ze6NC2g
speeddaddy is offline  
Old 08-10-2014, 07:33 AM
  #120  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Default

As speedydad posted, you are essentially taking the energy from one channel (channel 1) and putting it to the other. You have to have some sort of load (or battery) on channel 2. For less than $30 USD, you could buy an Integy reactor, gut the electronics, and use it as a resistor to discharge into. There was some discussion of this on the icharger 308 thread.

I would guess even the old lightbulb dischargers from the NIMH days would work as well. And they might be cheap to make. I had one of these that broke, but it worked really well:



However, that resistor bank that PFKAOG posted looks really nice.

My preferred method to discharge without having to disrupt the use of your charger is to use a standalone discharger like this:

http://www.racersmeasurementsystems....r-Dumper-W.htm

I use a modified integy reactor (personally), as talked about here:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-el...r-2s-lipo.html

Last edited by JiuHaWong; 08-10-2014 at 08:26 AM.
JiuHaWong is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.