R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2014, 09:12 PM   #106
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 936
Default

Thanks, CarbonJoe, just got the Tuning Haus cord and was wondering why there was two 2mm plugs. Although I wish they had the female plug soldered the other way around, just might do that.
__________________
RC racing is still trying to prove that two solid objects can be in the same place, at the same time.
vabroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 09:59 PM   #107
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,189
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
When charging a 2s, the red balancing lead gets plugged into the 2mm tube on the red bullet plug, and the blue 2mm balancing wire plugs into the balancing port on the battery.

For a 1s pack, the blue balancing wire goes in the 2mm tube on the red bullet plug, and the red wire just hangs free.
again, thanks
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 10:23 PM   #108
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Venice Beach
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

FYI, I temped my 600mm/12 gauge charge leads last weekend. After a discharge down to 3.4v/cell followed by a 40amp charge for approximately 15 minutes, the Novak wire hit 115 degrees.
LAGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 12:03 AM   #109
Tech Regular
 
Jsaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

How do the ichargers discharge? Do they just use their internal components or do you have to hook a battery for higher discharge rates?
Thanks and God Bless
__________________
Proud member of Magic City RC Racers
Magic City R/C (Facebook)
CRC GT-R
CRC WTF-1
Jsaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 07:58 AM   #110
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,189
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Can someone give me a breakdown of what to do and charge at? Only going to be for 2s right now. I want to charge at 40a. I also need to know what to safely set it up at to discharge at and per cell. Can I discharge up to 40 amps? This is for a 406 Duo.
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 08:11 AM   #111
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Can someone give me a breakdown of what to do and charge at? Only going to be for 2s right now. I want to charge at 40a. I also need to know what to safely set it up at to discharge at and per cell. Can I discharge up to 40 amps? This is for a 406 Duo.
Set the cell count to Auto, Cut off voltage to 4.2 per cell (This is factory preset), 40 amp charge rate and thats it. ONLY Charge at high rates using the balance leads. NEVER charge at a high rate without using it set to balance. Your asking for trouble this way.

See my other answer below for discharge info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
How do the ichargers discharge? Do they just use their internal components or do you have to hook a battery for higher discharge rates?
Thanks and God Bless
J,

They use internal components or can use a battery. In order to achieve the maximum discharge rate you must hook up an external battery (Discharged one) to the other set of leads and do a regen discharge. It is simple and works awesome! The normal discharge is limited to about 20 amps on a 2S and 30 amps on a 1S battery.
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 09:07 AM   #112
Tech Master
 
Mr RCTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
Can someone give me a breakdown of what to do and charge at? Only going to be for 2s right now. I want to charge at 40a. I also need to know what to safely set it up at to discharge at and per cell. Can I discharge up to 40 amps? This is for a 406 Duo.
You can charge at 40 amps.

But, why charge at 40 amps?
Puts too much heat into the cells to fast and makes the lipos swell.

If you go to the ICharger site they recommend no more than 30 amp charge.

As future lipos get better then you will be able to charge higher safely.
Mr RCTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 10:02 AM   #113
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsaves View Post
How do the ichargers discharge? Do they just use their internal components or do you have to hook a battery for higher discharge rates?
Thanks and God Bless
This is a good way to do it

This guy on facebook is selling these discharger resister banks made to plug into an Icharger and will discharge at 40 + amps https://www.facebook.com/raymond.mccoy.79?fref=ts

__________________
Pimp Formally Known as OG
PFKAOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 06:26 PM   #114
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,189
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Set the cell count to Auto, Cut off voltage to 4.2 per cell (This is factory preset), 40 amp charge rate and thats it. ONLY Charge at high rates using the balance leads. NEVER charge at a high rate without using it set to balance. Your asking for trouble this way.

See my other answer below for discharge info.



J,

They use internal components or can use a battery. In order to achieve the maximum discharge rate you must hook up an external battery (Discharged one) to the other set of leads and do a regen discharge. It is simple and works awesome! The normal discharge is limited to about 20 amps on a 2S and 30 amps on a 1S battery.
Thanks EA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr RCTech View Post
You can charge at 40 amps.

But, why charge at 40 amps?
Puts too much heat into the cells to fast and makes the lipos swell.

If you go to the ICharger site they recommend no more than 30 amp charge.

As future lipos get better then you will be able to charge higher safely.
What battery's have you tried???

Quote:
Originally Posted by PFKAOG View Post
This is a good way to do it

This guy on facebook is selling these discharger resister banks made to plug into an Icharger and will discharge at 40 + amps https://www.facebook.com/raymond.mccoy.79?fref=ts

Interesting!
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 07:37 PM   #115
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PFKAOG View Post
This is a good way to do it

This guy on facebook is selling these discharger resister banks made to plug into an Icharger and will discharge at 40 + amps https://www.facebook.com/raymond.mccoy.79?fref=ts

hmm, that looks like it might be a good load for a slave motor in a dyno setup. anyone try that? seems like if it can pull down a high load on the battery then it could just as well absorb the output of a motor/generator combo?
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 03:55 AM   #116
Tech Fanatic
 
daleburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by avs View Post
hmm, that looks like it might be a good load for a slave motor in a dyno setup. anyone try that? seems like if it can pull down a high load on the battery then it could just as well absorb the output of a motor/generator combo?
Yes that works:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/11546052-post329.html

Good for testing cooling and making sure a motor hasn't gone off. Doesn't really tell the full story though, which is why I also created a flywheel dyno:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/11929704-post331.html
__________________
Team Xray
RC-Timing Software - http://www.rc-timing.com
Mercedes AMG F1 - http://www.mercedes-amg-f1.com/
daleburr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 11:23 AM   #117
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
They use internal components or can use a battery. In order to achieve the maximum discharge rate you must hook up an external battery (Discharged one) to the other set of leads and do a regen discharge. It is simple and works awesome! The normal discharge is limited to about 20 amps on a 2S and 30 amps on a 1S battery.
I'm confused. Do you happen to have a pic of this? Or perhaps just a simple diagram? Thanks
__________________
☆ ActivRC ☆
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 04:11 PM   #118
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,189
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
I'm confused. Do you happen to have a pic of this? Or perhaps just a simple diagram? Thanks
+1
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 07:32 AM   #119
Tech Adept
 
speeddaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Delton,Mi.
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Here is a YouTube Video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L6Q_Ze6NC2g
__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem.

RC Sailboat, 3RC planes, SC5m, Yuneec Typhoon Quadcopter
speeddaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 08:33 AM   #120
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Send a message via ICQ to JiuHaWong
Default

As speedydad posted, you are essentially taking the energy from one channel (channel 1) and putting it to the other. You have to have some sort of load (or battery) on channel 2. For less than $30 USD, you could buy an Integy reactor, gut the electronics, and use it as a resistor to discharge into. There was some discussion of this on the icharger 308 thread.

I would guess even the old lightbulb dischargers from the NIMH days would work as well. And they might be cheap to make. I had one of these that broke, but it worked really well:



However, that resistor bank that PFKAOG posted looks really nice.

My preferred method to discharge without having to disrupt the use of your charger is to use a standalone discharger like this:

http://www.racersmeasurementsystems....r-Dumper-W.htm

I use a modified integy reactor (personally), as talked about here:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-el...r-2s-lipo.html
__________________
오늘의 청소년들이 미래의 문제를 처리 할 준비가 병 슬프게도 있습니다 우려하고있다.

Last edited by JiuHaWong; 08-10-2014 at 09:26 AM.
JiuHaWong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net