R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2005, 09:19 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default Help with a Corba Pro Com 2000 Lathe

I have a Corba Pro Com 2000 lathe, which I understand that motor must turn way from me to "cut" the com, but I have to connect the slave motor backwards to get the the correct rotion to "cut", I have also connected one of my stock motors and the same thing. What am I missing here...
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 09:46 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

you are correct that the motor must turn away from you. if you use a stock motor with locked timing , it will have to run in reverse. this means it will have 27degrees retarded timing. it will get real hot. the best way is to put the stock arm in a mod can and adjust the timing to zero.
i myself use a 12 volt motor. i just plug it into my power supply. but i am using a rivergate 30amp. i dont know if it will work with a 15amp or lower power supply. 12volt motor at www.hobbytalk.com
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 10:24 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Also, if you use a stock motor as the slave motor, it's also a good idea to run it on 5 volts instead of 12(& doing so is also easier on amp draw, so you don't need as much to run it). That's how I do it on my Cobra, I have a stock arm in a mod can at 0 degrees timing & connected in reverse polarity to an old PC power supply that has 5 volt leads on it(& mine has a 15 amp output at 5 volts), & it works beautifully....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 11:14 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

What if you used a differnet cuting tool? that would cut the direction that it spins with a stock motor?

Do you have direction to convert a computer supply? I have many of this things at my disposal....
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 11:27 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

PS> I have no idea how to set the timing on a mod can. I do have one, I have to go dig it out of the trash

But how to set it to 0 degree timing...
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 12:47 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Ok, I have a mod can and bell end, I can insert a stock arm, and I see 0 on the can, but what on the bell end do I line up to 0 on the can?
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 02:44 AM   #7
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well, there is both a mark on the can(which it sounds like you've found) & on on the endbell, though it's harder to see. bBut the best way to think of it is that the timing mark on the endbell is exactly lined up with the screws that hold it onto the can(or very close to exact, it works fine to use the screws to line it up). And for the power supply, actually, I didn't have to convert mine, because it's an old AT-style one(already had a switch on it & doesn't require a load to be placed on it to get it working), so I just had to isolate the 5 volt leads & solder on some alligator clips to them to connect to the slave motor....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro com lathe 2000 Carpetracer92 Electric On-Road 6 07-17-2007 02:34 PM
Cobra Pro Com 2000 lathe 2001C5 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-15-2006 06:57 PM
Cobra pro com 2000 Mod Lathe F/S bob_capo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-11-2005 07:07 PM
Cobra 2000 Pro Com lathe mlwhite R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 07-06-2003 06:08 PM
Team Corba AC tire lathe for sale (12th scale and touring car adapter included) stormperson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-31-2002 10:02 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:22 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net