R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2005, 03:31 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Green Bay WI
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to adr3naline fix
Default Official Brush and Springs thread

I thought I might start an official Brush matinence and other motor matinence thread. I spent about an hour searching for some very deep information and it was very hard to find in the RCTech forums. Everything is so spread apart.

So lets keep the info in this thread so its easier for new comers to find what they are looking for.

Starter Questions:

1) "How long should I wait before I change my brushes?"
2) "Which kinds of brushes do different things?"
3) "What Exactly does a "stiffer" spring or a lighter spring do for your motor?"
4) "What does cutting the comm mean?"


That should be a good start
adr3naline fix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 04:44 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ROAR HAD ME BANNED FROM RC TECH.
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

A good link that has some info on comm cutting ..
http://www.balakracing.com/commcutting.htm

How to install brushes ..
http://www.balakracing.com/changingbrushes.htm

The RC motor forum on RCCars.com is a worthwhile resource that will pretty much answer any question you could have about tuning if you take the time to read through it.
http://www.rccars.com/forums/index.php
Desolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 04:47 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
nick51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nick51
Default

1) "How long should I wait before I change my brushes?"

list wheather its a mod motor or stock when your changing the brushes
nick51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 06:46 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Green Bay WI
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to adr3naline fix
Default

Ok Nick when would you change brushes for a stock 27T and a 19t?

Here's a few more that I thought might be conveinient for new comers:

-Is there anyway to avoid the costly comm lathe/cutting devices out there for cutting your commutator?

-Does it make quite a difference in performance when choosing the right brushes?

Last edited by adr3naline fix; 08-28-2005 at 07:13 PM.
adr3naline fix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 07:24 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
nick51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nick51
Default

1. for stock ill usually run 767 or 4499 and ill change the brushes prolly after 6-7 runs and cut the comm. 19t i run f-brush or 767 and change brushes after 4-6 runs and cut the comm.
2. Copper brushes will last longer and have less power. Brushes w/ a good amout of silver dont last very long but have good power. The new silver brushes last for 15-20 runs i believe and have good power to.
3. Stiffer springs will produce more torque and a soft spring will give u more rpm.
4. Cutting the comm is basically making the comm new and ready for new brushes to be broken in on or old brushes to be re seatted.
nick51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 08:41 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Switch Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The British Invasion
Posts: 1,078
Send a message via AIM to Switch Blade
Default

remember that reducing the size of the comm increases timing to adjust acordingly.
I like the hurricane gold brushes, and I really noticed a difference between them and 4499's, but they require a comm cut after every run and only last about 3-4 runs(my experience and this is what hurricane told me)
__________________
College
Switch Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 09:13 PM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Green Bay WI
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to adr3naline fix
Default

Can anyone answer this because I cannot

-Is there anyway to avoid the costly comm lathe/cutting devices out there for cutting your commutator?
adr3naline fix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 01:32 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adr3naline fix
Can anyone answer this because I cannot

-Is there anyway to avoid the costly comm lathe/cutting devices out there for cutting your commutator?
Use either a comm stick or a pencil eraser. 1500 grit sandpaper works to.

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 02:50 AM   #9
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Duratrax
Use either a comm stick or a pencil eraser. 1500 grit sandpaper works to.

Sean
Those things work to clean the comm surface, but they do not TRUE the comm, which is what a lathe is for. As brushes wear, they also put wear on the comm surface, & as that happens, the surface becomes uneven. And as that happens, the brushes will begin to bounce on it as the motor runs, which only makes the motor lose performance & also accelerates the brush & comm wear. And only a lathe can get the comm surface perfectly round(true) again, so the shot answer is no, there's no cheap alternative to cutting the comm(because comm sticks & sandpaper do not do the same thing, they only clean it)....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 09:39 AM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Green Bay WI
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to adr3naline fix
Default

AH, delete this post
adr3naline fix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 12:21 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,761
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adr3naline fix
Can anyone answer this because I cannot

-Is there anyway to avoid the costly comm lathe/cutting devices out there for cutting your commutator?
Sure ... have someone cut your com for you
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 07:50 PM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Green Bay WI
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to adr3naline fix
Default

i hope someone at my local track has a lathe/cutting device.
adr3naline fix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
** The Official HOT or NOT Thread *** JVT MTX3 Chat Lounge 2431 12-30-2007 05:19 PM
Official MT2 RTR Thread PowayLAX1 Electric Off-Road 18 03-20-2007 02:03 PM
LST Official Thread Whipple81 Monster Trucks 0 10-06-2004 11:30 AM
brush springs roush steeda 6 Electric On-Road 7 12-14-2003 11:14 PM
The Official xxx-nt thread rushdude Electric Off-Road 1 09-24-2003 04:09 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:10 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net