R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2014, 03:43 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Default Sakura D3 problems

I have had a sprint 2 drift for about a year now and decided to upgrade. I was always fond of the Sakura kit and finally got to order it and it was fun to build and seems awesome. I am new to the CS world so bare with me, but im having some issues. I am running a speed passion combo 3.0 10.5T system. I ran the car for the first time today and slow it works fine but when i get close to full throttle the front wheels shake realllll bad. The main drive belt flapps real bad and wheels bounce up and down, anyone else had these problems?
Sir_Drifts_Alot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 03:53 PM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Also the motor and esc combo do i need to hook up the sensor wire or run sensorless?
Sir_Drifts_Alot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 04:02 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
ZiG-87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

For drifting it's all about control, so yes you want to run the sensor wire. As for the wheels shaking, have you checked the diff and axles? It sounds like something wasn't put together quite right and is binding at certain points in the rotation, or something along those lines..

Also 'alot' isn't a work in the context you're using it in, it should be 'a lot'.
ZiG-87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 04:21 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks for correcting the name, i do know that, but i had reached the limit of characters, and i didnt care its just a name so dont be a jerk.
I have checked everything and its all tight, i wondered if i got to big of a belt because i have read they mess up on the belts for the kit often.
Sir_Drifts_Alot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 07:52 AM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Figured it out, the main belt is skipping teeth on the rear pulley and making it twitch, it is the 519 should i get a 517? Also the front wheel chatter is becasue the stock cvd's cant handle that much of a angle, is that correct as well?
Sir_Drifts_Alot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 08:50 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,040
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Unless you go to double jointed shafts, all types of shafts will shake. I don't reccomend pointing a bunch of money into that car through, when in the end you could just save that money to get a more capable chassis.
ThePanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 01:18 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Well i just went from the sprint 2 and have wanted this chassis for a while. Ive already got alot into it to get it goin so another 40 bucks for shafts and another belt wont be to bad really.
Sir_Drifts_Alot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 05:07 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,040
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

New dcj shafts will really help with the shaking.
ThePanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 07:06 PM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks man, im gonna order some!
Sir_Drifts_Alot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 09:14 PM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 11
Default

for the skipped belt, i did have the same problems and i changed to the new one. and IMHO don't push the throttle suddenly just keep it smooth and it will help you not to wasting money on the belt. one of my friends after build it and play it rough only for 2 hours, the front belt and center belt skipped.
christanto_deng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 07:04 AM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Eeesh, well did you just order the same 519 that comes with the kit? Ive been taking it easy because im still learning cs. It isnt showing any wear at all, i loosened up the rear and front belt and it quit skipping. Then after about 2 hours of driving it started skipping again.
Sir_Drifts_Alot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 11:54 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,040
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

You want belts to be pretty tight, not super tight, but you should make sure they don't skip. If you drop your finger onto the center of one there should be a nice little bounce in the belt.
ThePanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 12:44 PM   #13
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Well on my main drive belt its loose abd floppy, top part reached abd almost hit the chassis support frame.
Sir_Drifts_Alot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 03:45 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,040
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

It should be a lot tighter than that. You want it as tight as possible without adding much drag to the system
ThePanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 03:41 PM   #15
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 14
Default

So you think if i ordered another 519 it would work or order a smaller belt?
Sir_Drifts_Alot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:04 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net