R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 08-25-2005, 06:24 AM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default How to Tell is a Battery is Good?

Hi All,
I am new to electric and bought a pakage deal that included 4 matched 3300 batteries. They guy said they were like new but I think they look really worn out Anyway, I have a Duratrax ICE, how can I use this charger to test if the betteries are any good?

I did a normal discharge\charge on them at 3.3A and I get the following results for capacity:
Battery 1: 2507
Battery 2: 2954
Battery 3: 3523
Battery 4: 4002

What else can this charger tell me about them? Is Battery 1 & 2 any good for racing? I will be running stock and 19T. I'm thinking at least 1 cell is bad in Battery 1, any way I can tell with my charger?

Thanks
LosiSuperTruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 06:59 AM   #2
Tech Elite

You have to measure IR and average voltage. I know your charger can do it, but I dont have one, so I dont know how.

Also, you should charge at at least 5 amps, preferable 6 amps. This way the packs perform much better on the track. The discharge rate should be 10 amps.

For stock/19, capasity dont mean much. The packs with the highest voltage and lowest IR, are the best.

The pack with low capasity, it's not for sure one cell is dead. A way to check it out, is to ckech if one cell gets warm/hot before the others. Or use a voltmeter to check voltage individually of the cells.

Have you tried equalizing them? It might help quite some...

When you have sorted this out, you might like to use the graphic curve feature - the packs with the highest voltage/lowest internal resistance in the BEGINNING of the discharge, is the best. If you could discharge at 20 amps, it's the first 5 minutes, which is interesting... Not sure about when it's 10 amps, around 7 minutes I would guesstimate.
Old 08-25-2005, 07:17 AM   #3
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)