R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2005, 11:20 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
rctoyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Clay, Alabama
Posts: 1,110
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default What is difference in CE Turbo30 and Turbo35?

The title pretty much says it all...

What are the differences in a Competition Electronics Turbo 30 and a Turbo 35? Is it just the discharge rate? As I understand, a T30 will discharge at 30A, and a T35 will do 35A - if this is correct, what else is different?
__________________
----
Jeff
rctoyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 11:30 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
1fastdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sinsinnati
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I'm pretty sure that you can set the discharge down to 5 amps with the 35 and only 10 amps on the thirty also.
__________________
★RCAmerica •Xray •Hudy •BSR •Absolute Hobbyz •Gravity RC •PROTOform •Avid •TQ Racing Wire •C & M Motorsports ★
1fastdude is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 12:28 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1fastdude
I'm pretty sure that you can set the discharge down to 5 amps with the 35 and only 10 amps on the thirty also.
Actually, I can discharge down to 5 amps on my 13 year old thirty.
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 01:23 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: illinois
Posts: 487
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Justin Zorc
Default

The turbo 30 doesnt have a back light, and later models of the turbo 35 were available with a backlight which is a big plus if your pit space doesnt have good lighting
Justin Zorc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 01:33 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

The regular T30 has a max charge output of 3000 mah. The T30 with Turboflex has a max charge output of 3800 mah. I think they also have difficulties discharging the higher mah packs too. I think all go down to 5 amps, GFX goes down to .5 amp. Also the older models only have 1, 4, 6 and 7 cells discharge setting, the GFX has 1 to 8, including 2, 3, and 5.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 02:21 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newracer
The regular T30 has a max charge output of 3000 mah. The T30 with Turboflex has a max charge output of 3800 mah. I think they also have difficulties discharging the higher mah packs too. I think all go down to 5 amps, GFX goes down to .5 amp. Also the older models only have 1, 4, 6 and 7 cells discharge setting, the GFX has 1 to 8, including 2, 3, and 5.

My 30 is one of the originals, and it has NO mah limit, or any reference to capacity anywhere. I charge 3800's on it without issue.
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 08:06 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

I just took that info from the CE web site.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 10:49 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newracer
I just took that info from the CE web site.
Wow, I wonder why mine is different. I have no problem charging any of my packs, and I don't own one that's less than 3300 mah, and I tray them before putting them on the charger.
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 01:01 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

You could upgrade Turbo30 software to charge / discharge NiMH cells. Contact competition electronics and ask for software upgrade. They will send new ROM chip.

CypressMidWest : I have T30 older version and IB3600 new type ( IB3800 labeled as 3600 ). Let me test MAh limit and confirm the result.
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 01:10 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
You could upgrade Turbo30 software to charge / discharge NiMH cells. Contact competition electronics and ask for software upgrade. They will send new ROM chip.

CypressMidWest : I have T30 older version and IB3600 new type ( IB3800 labeled as 3600 ). Let me test MAh limit and confirm the result.

Cool. I know that Mine was one of the first batch, so I wonder if it's possible that a mah limit was a running change to the T30's?
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 02:45 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
You could upgrade Turbo30 software to charge / discharge NiMH cells. Contact competition electronics and ask for software upgrade. They will send new ROM chip.
Not according to their website

Quote:
UPDATE/UPGRADE PAGE

GFX - Current software version is 1.60 (variable motor run upgrade, adjust the voltage while the motor is running). Software update is $20.00 plus return shipping. We can ship the new overlay and yellow LCD for $39.95 plus $9.50 shipping.

Turbo35 - Current software version is 5.70. This will work in all the Turbo35 units with the 2 line display. User can install updated Eprom chip in a socket. Cost for the Eprom is $25.00 plus shipping.

Turbo30 Turboflex - Current software version is 4.5. It has a 3800 mah charge output limit. A backlit display can be installed for $50.00 plus return shipping. No further updates coming for this model.

Turbo30 - Original 5 button unit, software version 3.0 final. It has a 3000 mah charge output limit. No further updates coming for this model. Repeak your batteries to insure a full charge.

Pitbull - no updates available.

Pitbull X3 - no updates available.

Service and satisfaction are important to us. Please E-mail question and concerns se we can help.
Wouldn't hurt to contact them though to make sure.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 02:55 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
rctoyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Clay, Alabama
Posts: 1,110
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Wow - thanks for all of the responses yall... I looked (a little) on CE's site and couldn't find information on the T30. It looks like it does max out at 3000 maH, so I don't think I like that.

Related topic - (other than a Turbo35) what would yall recommend as a good priced, good featured charger? I currently have 1 LRP Pulsar Competition, and I am happy with it. I would like to have a second charger, and I want something that will discharge at 30A. My Pulsar will do motor run in and handle my lathe, so an extra charger and good discharger are my main concerns.
__________________
----
Jeff
rctoyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fs-turbo35 and turbo30 morris R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 12-28-2007 01:41 PM
WTT...turbo35 and turbo30 4 morris R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-24-2007 11:52 PM
CE Turbo30 Stickboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-19-2006 09:39 AM
CE Turbo30 lazyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 07-08-2005 02:21 AM
LOOKING FOR CE TURBO30 or 35!!!! lazyboy R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 05-23-2004 09:55 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net