Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New here, need some help >

New here, need some help

New here, need some help

Old 03-26-2016, 10:32 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default New here, need some help

Hi all. I'm new to the RC scene. I decided I wanted to give it a shot and have some fun. I purchased the Tamiya TB04 standard chassis. I know that this is an obsolete chassis but I figured it could be upgraded if I really wanted to and it was fairly cheap at 200 bucks.

Anyway I purchased the following electronics to get this bad boy going:

Reedy Blackbox 800Z ESC
Sonic 540-M3 Spec Brushless Motor System (17.5T)
Savox SC-1257TG Standard Digital "Super Speed" Titanium Gear Servo
Futaba 3PL 2.4GHz FHSS Radio System w/R2004GF Receiver
2x Venom 2S LiPo 25C Hardcase Battery Pack w/Universal Connector (7.4V/5000mAh)

So everything was going alright until I started messing around with the electronics. I soldered the ESC to the Motor according to the letters. The soldering was a pain in the ass mainly because I'm not really good at it.
I connect up the ESC and the receiver and connect the battery. The ESC started blinking and such so I attempted to calibrate but I don't think I did it right. But now I'm getting a really strange issue. When I pull the trigger on the transmitter, it does nothing. When I push the brake, the motor goes full speed accelerate. I tried to reset the ESC to default but it isn't helping. Does anyone have any ideas what is going on?
Old 03-26-2016, 11:23 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Change the throttle option on the radio to reverse and re-calibrate the speed control. Or if the radio throttle is reverse change it to normal and re-calibrate.
Old 03-26-2016, 11:32 PM
Tech Fanatic

OK that worked so now at least accelerate it working but the reverse option only intermittently works.
Old 03-26-2016, 11:52 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)