Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New To 1/12th.

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2014, 11:52 PM
Tech Initiate

Default New To 1/12th.

I've been hopelessly devoted to RC since the early 80's.
I've had almost every RC vehicle genre that has been produced-except onroad cars.
Well I'm all growed up and ready for some real racing action in the form of a precision piece of remotely controlled mastery that is the 1/12 pan car.

I have an idea for my first car, but would like some input from experienced 1/12 scalers.

1st-What kit to start of with?
2nd-Electronics recommendations?
3rd-How to get started in racing these machines.

Take your time gentleman, I'm an information sponge.

Thanks for your time in advance.
Old 05-05-2014, 12:18 AM
Tech Adept

I am also new to 1/12th, but tried to learn from several threads.

There're thousands of pages, which contains useful information.

1/12 Forum
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...-12-forum.html

1/12 Tires for Asphalt
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...s-asphalt.html

1/12 Tamiya RM-01
http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...ng-master.html
Old 05-05-2014, 12:25 AM
Tech Initiate

Thanks Claw.
Yeah I've browsed almost every forum, video and website I can find.
Have you chosen a car?
Old 05-05-2014, 12:40 AM
Tech Champion

Pretty much all the information you seek can be found here:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/californ...ll-so-cal.html

As for what car to get...These days pretty much all 1/12th scale kits are quality and can do well. Look at what design you like best and what is supported at your local track. If you are ok with mail ordering all your spare parts then pick which design tickles your fancy. If you want the ease of getting replacement parts trackside get something that the local track's hobby shop carries.
Old 05-05-2014, 01:38 AM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by TurboJuice
Thanks Claw.
Yeah I've browsed almost every forum, video and website I can find.
Have you chosen a car?