R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-06-2001, 11:26 AM   #46
Tech Adept
 
highx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ca
Posts: 138
Default SMH

Hey Charlie. So they just discharge the cells to .85 per cell and leave them. Do you know if they use them more than once a day or is just once a week? I race my SMH's in stock TC but I would like to be able to run mod as well. Is there a way to keep up both voltage and run time? No factory guys to ask here. Heck I am the first to try SMH's here. Thanks.
highx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2001, 04:41 PM   #47
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

highx- where do you race at?
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2001, 04:47 PM   #48
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

HighX. Discharge to .9 or .85 there's no significant difference. I run my packs twice a day. Any more cycles than that and they feel slow. That seems to be the norm from what I have gathered.

We feel that it is best to charge at 4 amps in the NiMH2 mode of the Millennium Pro (You will notice a difference compared to other chargers). After your race, discharge the pack to .9 per cell and let it cool down and store the pack. That's it. Pretty simple, and works very very well. This is what we have gathered based on in house testing and feed back from our team drivers.

I personally race as often as I can, and that method does work very well.

If anyone has further questions please feel free to contact me directly, or visit our Orange Room. www.teamnovak.com
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 02:55 AM   #49
Tech Adept
 
highx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ca
Posts: 138
Default

Thanks for the info Charlie. I race at with a few other guys at a local school parking lot. We run mostly stock because of the lack of traction and interest in crashing. We used to have a lot more people but everytime we got a good turn out we would attract attention to ourselves. We have had to move about five times in the last year because of noise or some other bogus reason. Most guys make a 45 minute drive to a permanent track.
highx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 03:03 AM   #50
Tech Adept
 
spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Pablo
Posts: 139
Send a message via Yahoo to spider
Default

charlie: what's up at the orange room? today when i visit there the list of forums doesn't come out. fyi.
spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 09:05 AM   #51
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Thanks Spider. We're working on it.
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 09:24 AM   #52
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 8
Power supply for Millennium Pro

Hey guys, I just got a Millennium Pro two weeks ago and I think it rocks. My problem is the power supply that I was going to use turn out not to (some wierd spiking problem) so I need a new one. So my question is what type of power supply do you guys run with your millennium pro. I know about the N power from novak but it's abit more then I want to spend. I may end up getting it anyway but I was looking at something like the Integy 7 amp ps. or something similar to that (i.e. around $120 dollars cdn so about $80 dollars US).

Thanks Mach3
Mach3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 09:47 AM   #53
Ty
Tech Addict
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Get a Riveragate power supply. There are the best. You can buy them online too. www.rivergatedist.com is the website. Get one that will also suit your needs in the future also, ie. maybe a another charger, tire truer, or even motor dyno.
Ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 10:55 AM   #54
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Your LHS should be able to get Rivergate. I'm considering getting the 45amp to replace my N-Power.

The N-Power is great, but im looking at getting a lathe and other stuff. It just doesnt cut it past the charger
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 12:32 PM   #55
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

TSR6: dang man, 45 amps! Man are you trying to power all your equipment at once?
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 12:45 PM   #56
Ty
Tech Addict
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Darkside,
I called Fantom and they recommended the 75 amp model to power their Facts Machine dyno. That is one serious power supply.
Ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 02:56 PM   #57
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Darkside
TSR6: dang man, 45 amps! Man are you trying to power all your equipment at once?
heh... I'm more looking into what i would like to be doing in the future. I would like to get another charger ( CE T-35, or whatever they dream up between now and when i have the $ ), and a lathe. I was looking at pricing, and it wasnt that bad.. So its just a consideration. I doubt ill get it anytime soon... but it is my next powersupply..
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2001, 10:00 PM   #58
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

What other high end charger is like the M pro??

I want to get a new charger just to charge my AA batteries for my micro now

Later on, maybe get back to 1/10 so which Charger do you guys recommand??

TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2001, 02:21 AM   #59
Tech Adept
 
spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Pablo
Posts: 139
Send a message via Yahoo to spider
Default

you can actually charge your double-a's with the millenium. what i did was to get a doube-a batt holder that holds 4 batts. then use the millenium on nimh mode.
spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2001, 07:34 PM   #60
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Those four AA cells holder suck....i dont know why, i charge it with those...kept on false peaking...
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F.S. NOVAK Millennium MRX4-R03 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-26-2007 08:24 PM
Novak Millennium Pro, Novak Black box, 2 3300 Matched packs, M8 Module CRFXXXT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 04-16-2007 02:00 PM
Novak Millennium PRO Core Creations R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 04-28-2006 09:53 AM
For Sale - Novak Millennium Pro and Novak Black Box power supply Travis S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 12-22-2004 10:14 PM
PLZ help - Novak Millennium or Millennium Pro Charger? Travis S Electric On-Road 13 11-23-2004 04:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:39 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net