R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 05-19-2014, 09:17 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default Lipo battery question

Hey guys, total noob here. I was given a Losi XXXS RTR several years ago and ran brushed the whole time. The car has been down for about two years and I haven't really messed with it. I'm a novice but have had my eye out for a brushless set up for a while. A local hobby shop in my town is going out of business with a huge sale and I picked up a Castle Element 3900kv crazy cheap.

I got the car out and installed everything but I don't have any lipo's. I know I can run Ni-Cd, Ni-MH but I want to upgrade the battery too. What lipo's am I supposed to get?

Can this car even handle brushless? Do they shred belts and plastic spurs?

I also picked up a Losi lithium charge adapter that lets me charge lipo's on my NiMH trickle charger. Is this converter even worth a crap? It was only 6 dollars.

Thanks in advance
ih181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 06:22 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)

Hi. You need 2s lipo packs in the correct configuration either stick or saddle to suit your car. The car will be fine with brushless don't worry about that.

You can go with some cheaper 5000 30c type packs that should do you fine. Amain or any of the big online retailers have a good range. IMHO avoid the hobbyking turnigy packs as I've had issues with them. Lots of people say they are fine but they weren't for me. For you application id say they'll be fine but I just don't like them.

Never charge a lipo on anything other than a proper lipo charger for many reasons which I won't go into here. There are plenty of cost effective lipo chargers on the market too.