R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 05-18-2014, 10:11 AM   #1
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default Need feedback on platform for Spec parking lot racing

I've been Running the Chicago Mini R/C club for 3 years and have had great success with the Mini-z platform. Very durable, cheap to maintain and run (4 tires, $10).

The thing is, nearly everyone who gives mini-z a chance will end up buying one and racing it. But there are folks no matter what, who are very stubborn, that will not give a car that small a chance. SO....

Formula used at the club right now. This has worked really well and these are factors I would like to KEEP.
  • Casual racing. Non-intentional contact is FINE. This includes contact due to poor driving of beginners. This means cars need to be durable.
  • LOTS of racing. We race, line up again, and race. Over and over and over. No mains, no qualifiers. Just line up and go. This means RUN time is important. We're spoiled with mini-z racing with 45 min runtimes.
  • Mixed skill levels race at the same time. Larger races we'll group by skill level but sometimes that bottom end can have a large variance of first timer vs beginner. Again, durable cars.
  • Allow folks who don't have big money to participate. The club purchases and maintains the cars. Provides batteries. You basically show up, pickup a controller, and race.
  • Allow folks who aren't interested in that CLASS to race. Sometimes you want to race but not frequent enough to buy into that class.

With those factors, I've been able to maintain $10 race fees and include a car for free if you need it. We do 4 minute runs and $10 with of tires will last 100 races. A $10 set of AAA rechargeable batteries will last me all year. In a field of 8 cars, running 4 minute races, for 3 hours. we'll break a $5 part once on average.