R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2014, 06:15 PM   #16
Tech Regular
 
Emaculant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 380
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'm looking to buy a XERUN Stock Spec ESC Black Edition for mod. What's a good TURN to purchase for mod?
Emaculant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:15 PM   #17
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emaculant View Post
I'm looking to buy a XERUN Stock Spec ESC Black Edition for mod. What's a good TURN to purchase for mod?
Why not use the Hobbywing 1s V3.1. It costs a little more but works great in 1 cell and 2 cell racing with as much motor as you can handle.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 03:03 AM   #18
Tech Addict
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

My advice to the op is to use different speedos for mod and stock.

Blinky software varies considerably from brand to brand. They're not all equal.

I've used a Black Diamond for many years but recently started to suspect I might be at a disadvantage. Changed to Tekin RS2. Half-3/4 lap faster on tight carpet layout. I was able to use more can timing without overheating so had more punch yet stable temps for consistency. Tekin simply had more raw power over the run which is what's needed with a 17.5.

In mod the delivery of the power is everything. So you're looking for feel and traction. Not outright power.
hana166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 05:31 AM   #19
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 761
Default

There definitely is a difference brtween the esc's in blinky. We have tested a few on a motor dyno and the HW and Castle seem to be the best in blinky. It isn't top rpm but in the torque they let the motor produce.
I recommend the HW 1s because of its program ability, it has a built in booster, it tests near the top in that all mighty torque number and it works well from stock to mod.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 07:29 PM   #20
Tech Regular
 
Emaculant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 380
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
There definitely is a difference brtween the esc's in blinky. We have tested a few on a motor dyno and the HW and Castle seem to be the best in blinky. It isn't top rpm but in the torque they let the motor produce.
I recommend the HW 1s because of its program ability, it has a built in booster, it tests near the top in that all mighty torque number and it works well from stock to mod.
Do you need a programmer to program it? Also what's a good turn rating for mod?
Emaculant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 09:13 PM   #21
Tech Master
 
jsinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: rice lake, wi
Posts: 1,036
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
Why not use the Hobbywing 1s V3.1. It costs a little more but works great in 1 cell and 2 cell racing with as much motor as you can handle.
Isn't the v3.1 1s, one cell only ? The v2 120 amp would do both .....
jsinclair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 10:28 PM   #22
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_dude View Post
Why not use the Hobbywing 1s V3.1. It costs a little more but works great in 1 cell and 2 cell racing with as much motor as you can handle.
The v3.1 1s is only for 1s.

The previous v2.1 1s was able to use both 1s and 2s.
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 05:30 AM   #23
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyujmn View Post
The v3.1 1s is only for 1s.

The previous v2.1 1s was able to use both 1s and 2s.
You are right, I hadn't seen that on the V3.1 but it is stated in the manual for 1s only. Try and find the older version 2 if you can as it is works for one or two cell racing and can handle a 3.5t easily. Most 1/12 mod racers run that low, I don't know where the mod T/C racers are at wind wise.
Yes you do need a programmer and a computer to put it into "blinky" mode. The computer is needed to change the mode in a V2 and between profiles in the V3's. Once you are in a mode you want the programmer to change settings within the mode/profile. It can be done with the button but that is a pain.
__________________
www.norcarracing.com
NORCAR @ The Gate
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 12:17 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Viper VTX1 - won 2 ROAR Nationals in 17.5 last year. Add your favorite motor. Just wanted to add my .02
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:05 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net