R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 05-16-2014, 07:05 AM   #1
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Most Suitable Tires for Cemented Surface

Hi Guys, I'm new to 1/10 scale. At the moment I am playing on cement surface where the surface is both smooth and a slightly dusty. I would like to know what is the best tires to use on this type of surface. I bought Tamiya's Super Slick Soft Compound tires hoping that it would give me the right traction. Not too bad, tires seems fine, but I would prefer a more grippy set of tires. Any recommendations for the type of surface I play on?
Supa_Mario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:08 AM   #2
Tech Master

For slicks, it's hard to beat Sorex, but a dusty surface is not going to be good for even the most grippy of tires. Get a leaf blower and clean the surface, then for even more traction, if you are allowed to, spray a nice mist of sugar water or grape soda, coke, etc. on the racing line and give it some time to dry. You at least need to get rid of the dust or you'll just be high speed drifting no matter which tires you have.
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 10:49 AM   #3
Tech Addict

whats the temps where you are?you could try sorex 24's or 28's,that shouldnt wear out or overheat to quick if your just bashing
do you use additive?
try some tyre tweak or mr33
and i used a cheap litre of orange juice mixed 4/1 with water in a gardening spray bottle and sprayed the track,made the grip level double
Old 05-17-2014, 06:17 AM   #4
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)