R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2014, 09:53 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mt dora fl
Posts: 143
Default hobbywing esc 3.0

having problem after update box will not work says needs software update
and almost lost all brakes pc will work for changes
to slow for you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 05:09 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mt dora fl
Posts: 143
Default

I did get the the program box to with my laptop with different version of update
but still has weak brakes tried three different motors same problem very little brakes
?
to slow for you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 06:10 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mt dora fl
Posts: 143
Default

anyone have any ideas how to get brakes back was ok before update ?
to slow for you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:05 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

After doing upgrades, you may have to redo Calibration of TX and ESC. then adjust everything else. Manual shows how to Recalibration of neutral, Full throttle and brakes. It like a new install.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 05:15 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mt dora fl
Posts: 143
Default

done all that still almost no brakes did reset esc
to slow for you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 06:57 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
chasingthepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: hanworth uk
Posts: 728
Default

check all settings and set brakes at 87.5 i found it was better than on 100%
and set the neutral point at 20 to 40%
if you run too much boost or motor timing this takes away braking power until the esc has dropped some timing then you end up with too much brake just before you hit the apex
__________________
yokomo bd7 16_lrp works team-trinity d4 17.5_futaba 4pks_futaba bls
wet/damp car xray t4-14-r10 pro-team wave 17.5 savox 1251
chasingthepack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 08:33 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Drag Brake adjustment maybe too low. DB occurs when in neutral. Vehicle may roll 5ft or more, seem like no brakes. Its a driver's feel.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 05:52 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mt dora fl
Posts: 143
Default

note problem started after update same motors same gearing same timing ?
to slow for you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 09:18 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

When you upgrade software, ESC default all setting. You must start out as New. All trims on tx centered. Recalibrate TX & ESC, neutral,Full throttle & brakes. By this time motor runs. Check on blinky mode or program card. Braking strength then Drag Brake. Learn Blinky mode first to understand what function operates. Then plug in program card. Look at function of Brake strength & drag brake. With out Drag Brake, car may roll in neutral trigger. Again follow manual on ESC recalibration.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 06:47 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mt dora fl
Posts: 143
Default

I have speedo for about a year half the one update fixed the brake issue but has returned in latest update
to slow for you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 09:55 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by to slow for you View Post
I have speedo for about a year half the one update fixed the brake issue but has returned in latest update
Think you are missing what I'm saying. Its like your computer, upgrade windows, you have turn of to accept. Reread my last post. First 3 sentences. Do it without program card, that's the last thing to hook up. Tell me how you do the Recal. I mostly deal with higher ESC(Tekins, Novak, Creation) but it all comes down to the same thing. All ESC Calbration important. Your manual probably says If not calibrated, it would function correctly.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:50 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net