R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2014, 11:24 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,033
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Question about ESC's and SubTrim

I have a few ESC's that I have to set the Sub Trim back a few notches to get them to the neutral position (for blinky mode). Is this common with ESC's or is it something wrong with the ESC's themselves?

Happens with 2 Orion v10 Pro's and one Justock.
__________________
-Mike B.
Carnage9270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 11:35 AM   #2
AE-Reedy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnage9270 View Post
I have a few ESC's that I have to set the Sub Trim back a few notches to get them to the neutral position (for blinky mode). Is this common with ESC's or is it something wrong with the ESC's themselves?

Happens with 2 Orion v10 Pro's and one Justock.
Throttle pots in the transmitter will constantly change little over time.
The better thing to do is reset your radio to the speed control every month or so to take care of the "neutral drift".
Sean Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 11:52 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,033
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Ahh, I see. This actually happens hooking the esc up to just the motor and battery. The motor has a slow turn to it telling me the esc isn't naturally at the neutral position. I've reflashed firmware, reset the esc...nothing seems to get it to a neutral position just hooked to battery.
__________________
-Mike B.
Carnage9270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 11:58 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,046
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

recalibrate the speed controls and radio.
ThePanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 03:04 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
chasingthepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: hanworth uk
Posts: 728
Default

hi,my guess is its normal,i have 3 r10's and they are all on -4 off center to get the neutral point,this is with a futaba 4pl and a 4pks and previously with a spektrum dx3s,it hasnt bothered me or my son set this way
so long as your getting a green light at full brake and full throttle its working fine
__________________
yokomo bd7 16_lrp works team-trinity d4 17.5_futaba 4pks_futaba bls
wet/damp car xray t4-14-r10 pro-team wave 17.5 savox 1251
chasingthepack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:21 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net